Search Results: "Nora Leigh Ryder"


BOOK REVIEW

IN THE WILD by Nora Leigh Ryder
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 1997

"Ryder, in her first book, shows respect for preschoolers and their ability to learn by seeing. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Not all preschoolers are interested in farm animals, and for those who would rather visit the savannah than the barnyard, this book of African wildlife is a ticket to the Serengeti Plain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA by Constance C. Greene
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"No wonder Chuck finds Nora's quiet ways likable; as her wry narration demonstrates, she's perfectly capable of nabbing the attention she needs, and entertaining her audience in the process. (Fiction. 10-12)"
If only the heroines of this tale—Nora, almost 13, and sibling Patsy, just 12—didn't seem so much older than their ages suggest, Greene would have a near-perfect tale about the hauntings of the heart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA, NORA by Anne Rivers Siddons
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 18, 2000

"Quirky family drama mixed with a Forrest Gumpish catchall of early '60s pop culture: sure to entertain, if not enlighten."
Coming-of-age tale from Siddons (Low Country, 1998, etc.) set in the South circa 1961. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA WEBSTER by Colm Tóibín
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"A novel of mourning, healing and awakening; its plainspoken eloquence never succumbs to the sentimentality its heroine would reject."
A subtle, pitch-perfect sonata of a novel in which an Irish widow faces her empty life and, incrementally, fills the hole left by the recent death of her husband. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOISY NORA by Rosemary Wells
Released: April 30, 1973

"And flew it down the stairs'—and the more reassuring when she is searched for in panic and welcomed back with joy after she finally runs away."
Compared to Jane Breskin Zalben's icky pink siblings in Cecilia's Older Brother (1973), Nora and her family are both more essentially mouselike and more recognizably human. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIVIEN LEIGH by Kendra Bean
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2013

"A worthy tribute to an eternally fascinating star."
Sumptuously illustrated life of one of stage and screen's greatest tragic figures, published in time for the centennial of her birth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PATRICK LEIGH FERMOR by Artemis Cooper
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"A solid biography that should introduce more readers to Leigh Fermor's work."
A fondly admiring account of the English wayfarer captures his enormously infectious spirit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA & KETTLE by Lauren Nicole Taylor
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 29, 2016

"A complicated, unlikely friendship with an ending that feels simplified. (Historical fiction. 13-16)"
Teens Nora and Kettle endure hardships while leading two different lives in 1950s America. She lives in a brownstone; he, on the streets. But, at their very cores, they share a common need: survival. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEMENTO NORA by Angie Smibert
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2011

"Not bad for reluctant readers, but Cory Doctorow's Little Brother (2008) tells a similar story so much better. (Dystopia. YA)"
"I'm about to forget everything I'm going to tell you," declares preppy 15-year-old Nora James in her opening therapeutic statement at the local Detention Center. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA JANE by Ellen Gilchrist
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 22, 2005

"Hooray for Nora Jane!"
Collected for the first time in one volume, these 14 stories and one new novella chronicle the life and times of the indomitable Nora Jane Whittington. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RYDER CUP by Bob Bubka
NON-FICTION
Released: May 26, 1999

"Many flaws, but this account by two veteran golf journalists seems to be the only book available combining a rehash of Ryder Cups past, a tribute to the tournament's luminaries and principles, and a preview of this year's competition, to be held in Brookline, Mass."
Containing a wee bit of padding and a lot of hype, this slight (but not slender) volume serves as a passable introduction to golf's biannual intercontinental grudge match. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA AND THE TEXAS TERROR by Judy Cox
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2010

"Fans of Johanna Hurwitz and Beverly Cleary will embrace these two modern cousins. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third graders Nora and Ellie are cousins, but they struggle to be friends. Read full book review >