Search Results: "Nora McFarland"


BOOK REVIEW

NORA by Constance C. Greene
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"No wonder Chuck finds Nora's quiet ways likable; as her wry narration demonstrates, she's perfectly capable of nabbing the attention she needs, and entertaining her audience in the process. (Fiction. 10-12)"
If only the heroines of this tale—Nora, almost 13, and sibling Patsy, just 12—didn't seem so much older than their ages suggest, Greene would have a near-perfect tale about the hauntings of the heart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOING TO THE BAD by Nora McFarland
Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"Fans of McFarland's series (A Bad Day's Work, 2010, etc.) will be shocked at the involvement of Uncle Bud. It's hard when a mystery hits so close to home."
Determined to avenge an attack on her uncle, a photographer turns investigator in this character-rich whodunit and whydunit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BAD DAY'S WORK by Nora McFarland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 10, 2010

"McFarland's debut, the first in a planned series, is often both amusing and touching as Lilly discovers both the truth about the murder and enough about herself to change her life."
A run of bad luck for a "shooter" at a California TV station is about to get much worse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA, NORA by Anne Rivers Siddons
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 18, 2000

"Quirky family drama mixed with a Forrest Gumpish catchall of early '60s pop culture: sure to entertain, if not enlighten."
Coming-of-age tale from Siddons (Low Country, 1998, etc.) set in the South circa 1961. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOISY NORA by Rosemary Wells
Released: April 30, 1973

"And flew it down the stairs'—and the more reassuring when she is searched for in panic and welcomed back with joy after she finally runs away."
Compared to Jane Breskin Zalben's icky pink siblings in Cecilia's Older Brother (1973), Nora and her family are both more essentially mouselike and more recognizably human. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA WEBSTER by Colm Tóibín
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"A novel of mourning, healing and awakening; its plainspoken eloquence never succumbs to the sentimentality its heroine would reject."
A subtle, pitch-perfect sonata of a novel in which an Irish widow faces her empty life and, incrementally, fills the hole left by the recent death of her husband. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA & KETTLE by Lauren Nicole Taylor
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 29, 2016

"A complicated, unlikely friendship with an ending that feels simplified. (Historical fiction. 13-16)"
Teens Nora and Kettle endure hardships while leading two different lives in 1950s America. She lives in a brownstone; he, on the streets. But, at their very cores, they share a common need: survival. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEMENTO NORA by Angie Smibert
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2011

"Not bad for reluctant readers, but Cory Doctorow's Little Brother (2008) tells a similar story so much better. (Dystopia. YA)"
"I'm about to forget everything I'm going to tell you," declares preppy 15-year-old Nora James in her opening therapeutic statement at the local Detention Center. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA JANE by Ellen Gilchrist
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 22, 2005

"Hooray for Nora Jane!"
Collected for the first time in one volume, these 14 stories and one new novella chronicle the life and times of the indomitable Nora Jane Whittington. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA AND THE TEXAS TERROR by Judy Cox
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2010

"Fans of Johanna Hurwitz and Beverly Cleary will embrace these two modern cousins. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third graders Nora and Ellie are cousins, but they struggle to be friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORA THE MIND READER by Orit Gidali
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 3, 2012

"A thought-inspiring approach. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A little girl's sensitivity to childhood banter is assuaged with the help of her resourceful mom, who provides an inventive tool for interpreting altered meaning. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MOST OF NORA EPHRON by Nora Ephron
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Nov. 4, 2013

"A delightful collection from a unique, significant American writer."
A thick collection of writings by the iconic Ephron (I Remember Nothing: And Other Reflections, 2010, etc.), a year after her much-mourned death. Read full book review >