Search Results: "Norb Vonnegut"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GODS OF GREENWICH by Norb Vonnegut
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 26, 2011

"Vonnegut knows the territory almost too well—it's sometimes difficult to keep up with his dense inside plotting—and Cusack could hardly be a more callow protagonist. But the novel moves at such a fast clip, spilling goods on recession-era wheelers and dealers as it goes, that readers will get caught up despite the flaws."
Things go from grim to worse for rising hedge-fund star Jimmy Cusack when his company collapses and the fund that recruits him is targeted for destruction by cutthroat bankers in Iceland and a sheikh in Qatar. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRUST by Norb Vonnegut
Released: July 17, 2012

"A fast and furious novel from Vonnegut (The Gods of Greenwich, 2011, etc.) and a guaranteed good time."
Mommas, don't let your sons grow up to be Manhattan brokers or board members of charitable foundations. They'd never survive the combination of criminal plots and personal threats. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GALAPAGOS by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 1985

"But his dark is real enough."
Once again Vonnegut throws up his hands at the human race, condemning it for its overweening technology, war-making, greed and other perversities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OASIS by Laureen Vonnegut
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 30, 2006

"A novel as dry and empty as the desert in which it is set."
A tall, blonde beauty finds herself in the Sahara in this debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOOK AT THE BIRDIE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"For ultra-committed fans and Vonnegut scholars only."
Early, unpublished work from the much-lauded and much-loved American writer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 21, 1969

Then comes the fire storm and "It is so short and jumbled and jangled" . . . because there is nothing intelligent to say about a massacre but it is precise jumble and jangle, disconcerting and ultimately devastating. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOCUS POCUS by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 5, 1990

"Yes, there are occasional flashes of the old Vonnegut magic (a lovely encounter between Eugene and an illegitimate son named after a cocktail, for example), but mostly he is working well below his top form here."
Vonnegut's latest is his most insistently antiwar novel since Slaughterhouse-Five, and is haunted by Vietnam; the title refers to Uncle Sam's Vietnam propaganda outfit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOD BLESS YOU, DR. KEVORKIAN by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 15, 2000

"Like, maybe, the novel."
If, in modern times, melody could disappear from music and recognizable image from art, is it possible that the novel can also, at long last, grow free of its imprisoning burden of "story"? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEADEYE DICK by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 26, 1982

"Vonnegut's weakest fiction ever."
Even Vonnegut's weaker myth/cartoon parables of 20th-century American life—Slapstick, Jailbird—have had a certain gravity and a strange shapeliness in their whimsical digressions, their near-childish interplay between silly plots and Big Themes- Here, however, though the Message circles around such weighty matters as Art and Disarmament, there's no majesty in the doodling, no sense of a pattern worth following to the end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUEBEARD by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1987

"So, though less arresting or Vivid or disturbing than prime Vonnegut (and a disappointment for readers expecting real development of the Abstract Expressionist angle), this is an easy-to-take mixture of comic diversion, low-key satire, and unabashed preaching."
Likable, jaunty, lesser Vonnegut: the chatty autobiography of minor Abstract Expressionist painter Rabo Karabekian (a minor player in Breakfast of Champions)—interspersed with Rabo's present-day doings in his posh, art-treasure-filled manse in East Hampton, Long Island. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOD BLESS YOU, MR. ROSEWATER by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 5, 1965

"He hasn't made the novel form, at least this one, come to terms with his own prodigious talents."
In the tradition of Joseph Heller, Bruce Jay Friedman, and Ken Kesey, this is another zany exploration of the world of the oversane. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WELCOME TO THE MONKEY HOUSE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 19, 1968

"There's the shattering 'All the King's Horses,' a ghastly game of human chess, and the nicest kind of sentiment in 'The Kid Nobody Could Handle' and 'Adam,' All in all, a versatile, volatile talent—inventive, catchy, charming."
Welcome, a warm welcome, for this Collection of Short Works, viz. pleasures. Read full book review >