Search Results: "Olof Landstrom"


BOOK REVIEW

BENNY AND THE BINKY by Barbro Lindgren
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 5, 2002

"This is an obvious choice for toddlers with a new member of the family to contend with. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Benny, a round little pig, learns that wanting and getting are two very different experiences in this charmingly illustrated chuckler. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALLACE’S LISTS by Barbara Bottner
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2004

"Cartoon characters move through the story with vitality and humor a young reader will relish, and a parent strapped with the routine and mundane will appreciate. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A budding friendship begins, grows, and blossoms between two most unlikely characters: a shy mouse named Wallace and a confident, lively neighbor named Albert. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MR. BOHM AND THE HERRING by Peter Cohen
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 30, 1992

"An offbeat tale, worth trying with children who also like to wonder. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Mr. Bohm, whimsically depicted as an oddly shaped little man with vacant spectacles and an anxious brow, likes to ponder childlike questions: Why does the dog choose that tree? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OINK, OINK BENNY by Barbro Lindgren
ANIMALS
Released: April 10, 2008

"Brisk and engaging. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Benny and his little brother are back in another droll low-key adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOO AND BAA HAVE COMPANY by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 2006

"Bright watercolor illustrations and a sprightly translation, not to mention the full-sized format, make this perfect for story times. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Thank goodness: Swedish sheep Boo and Baa make their return to America after a six-year absence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOUR HENS AND A ROOSTER by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 8, 2005

"Fans of Doreen Cronin's Click, Clack, Moo (2000), illustrated by Betsy Lewin, and other Animal Farm offshoots, will be particularly amused. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The hens revolt when Rooster gets too big for his britches in this droll barnyard spoof. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILL GOES TO THE BEACH by Lena Landström
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 1995

"Low-key, but a charmer. (Picture book. 4-6)"
In this very brief, tongue-in-cheek Swedish import, young Will (Will Gets a Haircut, 1993) has a fine day at the beach with his motherespecially after rain drives away any witnesses and he learns how to float and paddle about. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILL'S NEW CAP by Olof Landstrom
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 1992

"The simple, well-paced drama here is perfectly childlike; the cartoon-style illustrations have the vibrant energy and humor of Quentin Blake, with a refreshing Scandinavian flavor. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The colorful cap is Will's pride and the delight of the admiring friends he willingly lets try it on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SERENGETI MIGRATION by Lisa Lindblad
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 26, 1994

"Glossary. (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
Subtitled Animals on the Move, a handsome depiction of the annual migration of millions of animals through Tanzania's Serengeti National Park and adjacent reserves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE IS PIM? by Lena Landström
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"Pom is the elemental Everychild—and just darlin'. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Dog takes Pom's Pim in this return of one of the most heart-gladdening creatures on Earth (Pom and Pim, 2014).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POM AND PIM by Lena Landström
Kirkus Star
by Lena Landström, illustrated by Olof Landström, translated by Julia Marshall
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"A perfect primer for the existential philosophy required for a small one to make it through the day. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Pom and his potato-shaped rag doll, Pim, make their way through the ups and downs of everyday life. Read full book review >