Search Results: "P.T. Deutermann"


BOOK REVIEW

GHOSTS OF BUNGO SUIDO by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 30, 2013

"A first-rate yarn of war and the sea that will keep the reader on edge right to the end."
A World War II naval thriller in the tradition of Edward L. Beach's Run Silent, Run Deep, pitting an American submarine against daunting odds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPIDER MOUNTAIN by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 1, 2007

"Most Deutermann novels (The Cat Dancers, 2005, etc.) are character-driven. Here, slam-bang action outweighs nuance. The result is best for short attention spans."
Ex-cop Cam Richter returns to the North Carolina backwoods for a blood feud with backwoods royalty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZERO OPTION by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 28, 1998

"Solid, authentic detail that bolts each event to the next and creates an intensely plausible entertainment—with a leavening of telepathy for added pleasure."
Deutermann (Sweepers, 1997, etc.), a retired Navy captain who served the Joint Chiefs of Staff as an arms control specialist, returns in top form with this gripping tale of men caught up in a nasty business: selling germs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OFFICIAL PRIVILEGE by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 23, 1995

"First-class entertainment with full-tilt action and three- dimensional characters credibly concerned about abuse of power, exposure, retribution, and other of a workaday world's manifold cares."
Another arresting take on the US Navy from Deutermann (The Edge of Honor, 1994, etc.)—this time in a military police procedural that features miscegenation, high-level infighting, and a genuinely horrifying hatchet man. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CAT DANCERS by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2005

"Somewhat over-plotted, but the besetting conflict is substantive, and the characters are credible and sympathetic."
In Deutermann's gripping tenth (Firefly, 2003, etc.), an ugly crime sparks outrage and a look at what is and isn't justice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHTWALKERS by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2009

"A rousing, spirited yarn."
Ex-cop Cameron Richter (Spider Mountain, 2007, etc.) plays cat-and-mouse with two murderous ghosts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST MAN by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 22, 2012

"Damn good."
Deutermann's latest (Nightwalkers, 2009, etc.) is a strong thriller that mixes archaeology, history and geopolitics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIREFLY by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2003

"Deutermann (Darkside, 2002, etc.) always makes his backgrounds impeccably authentic, but it's those three-dimensional people in peril who drive his tales."
A crafty veteran returns with a deft thriller about a crafty veteran returning to thwart a fiendish terrorist plot. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUNTING SEASON by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 19, 2001

"They're blind if they pass on this one."
This seventh thriller from Deutermann, a retired Navy captain and arms-control specialist, begins like a steel bear trap with, indeed, two young men stepping into immovable bear traps by a stream, then nearly getting struck by lightning that batters a nearby tree, and who then face a thunderstorm and rising flash flood as they writhe in place while a five-foot wall of mud sweeps toward them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRAINMAN by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"Quality entertainment: the details convince, the people are real, the plot twists legitimate."
Another solid performance from Deutermann (Zero Option, 1998, etc.), this time about a train-hating, vengeance-hungry madman and the FBI agents seeking to derail him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWEEPERS by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 14, 1997

"A quality on-the-run yarn that, if less plausible than the author's previous efforts, features appealing lower-echelon military personnel for whom honor, obligation, and country are not just words but credos."
Deutermann (Official Privilege, 1995, etc.) returns to the scene of US Navy crimes with a twisty thriller detailing the lengths to which the seagoing service will go to protect its own and deep-six potentially embarrassing scandals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EDGE OF HONOR by P.T. Deutermann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 1994

"Social change is as threatening as Communism in this detailed and, finally, compelling adventure."
Deutermann (Scorpion in the Sea, not reviewed) stows the Age of Aquarius aboard a naval frigate in The Edge of Honor. Read full book review >