Search Results: "Pablo Medina"


BOOK REVIEW

THE RETURN OF FELIX NOGARA by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 7, 2000

Felix Nogara has returned to Barata, Cuba, after the death of its Marxist dictator Campion (a double for guess who). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CUBOP CITY BLUES by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2012

"Love of life, music, sex and language redeem a work that might have benefited from more continuity and focus."
Storytelling that playfully illuminates the essence of storytelling, though heavier on atmosphere and color than narrative momentum and cohesion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MARKS OF BIRTH by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 1994

"Lyrical and stylish, this is a fine example of magical realism in the vein of Rudolfo Anaya and Gabriel Garc°a M†rquez."
An evocative novel about the trials and triumphs of a Hispanic family, from a Cuban-born poet and essayist (Exiled Memories, not reviewed). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CIGAR ROLLER by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2005

"A surprisingly superficial life story: More about the family and mistress and less about the drooling body in the bed would have been welcome."
The jumbled memories of the life and loves of a Cuban cigar roller: the third novel (The Return of Felix Nogara, 2000, etc.) from Medina, Cuban exile, poet, and professor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLD MEDINA by Gary Hardwick
Released: Feb. 19, 1996

"At his best, he shows a promising sense of what makes for a narrative that's genuinely dramatic, as opposed to one that's just sensational."
An initially impressive first novel whose brilliantly bleak accounts of Detroit's mean streets and black/white tensions are undone at the close by over-the-top plot excesses. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PABLO PICASSO by Linda Lowery
Released: Nov. 30, 1999

"In pleasing textures of oil on canvas and warm hues, Porter's accompanying illustrations quite nicely echo the art of its subject. (photos, chronology) (Biography. 8-11)"
paper 1-57505-370-5 In this valuable addition to the On My Own Biography series of easy readers, Lowery (Georgia O'Keeffe, 1996, etc.) renders an intriguing and lucid portrait of the man often referred to as the most celebrated artist of the 20th century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 8, 2001

"Essential reading for any aficionado of espionage scandals and Mafioso folklore."
In this riveting work of reportage, award-winning journalist Bowden (Black Hawk Down, 1999) details American involvement in the assassination of Pablo Escobar, the Colombian billionaire godfather of international cocaine trafficking. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PABLO PICASSO by John Beardsley
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Nov. 1, 1991

"Full citations for the art; index. (Biography. 11+)"
In the ``First Impressions'' series, an intelligent overview of the 20th-century giant's life as it relates to the evolution of his many innovative styles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRDS & OTHER ANIMALS WITH PABLO PICASSO by Pablo Picasso
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 24, 2017

"Simultaneously simple and sophisticated—but not for the baby and toddler board-book crowd; older preschoolers learning to make their own representational drawings will be inspired. (Board book. 3-5)"
An anthology of Picasso's animal sketches from various collections including birds, insects, and various mammals. Read full book review >