Search Results: "Pablo Medina"


BOOK REVIEW

THE MARKS OF BIRTH by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 1994

"Lyrical and stylish, this is a fine example of magical realism in the vein of Rudolfo Anaya and Gabriel Garc°a M†rquez."
An evocative novel about the trials and triumphs of a Hispanic family, from a Cuban-born poet and essayist (Exiled Memories, not reviewed). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RETURN OF FELIX NOGARA by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 7, 2000

Felix Nogara has returned to Barata, Cuba, after the death of its Marxist dictator Campion (a double for guess who). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CUBOP CITY BLUES by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2012

"Love of life, music, sex and language redeem a work that might have benefited from more continuity and focus."
Storytelling that playfully illuminates the essence of storytelling, though heavier on atmosphere and color than narrative momentum and cohesion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CIGAR ROLLER by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2005

"A surprisingly superficial life story: More about the family and mistress and less about the drooling body in the bed would have been welcome."
The jumbled memories of the life and loves of a Cuban cigar roller: the third novel (The Return of Felix Nogara, 2000, etc.) from Medina, Cuban exile, poet, and professor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

1 BIG SALAD by Juana Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"From layout to text to artwork, this counting book takes 'playing with your food' to a new level. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Photographs of salad ingredients, embellished with details done in black ink, create whimsical arrays from one through 10. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUANA AND LUCAS by Juana Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"The real gift of this book comes from presenting a different point of reference to American children who hear only stories of poverty and need coming out of South America. (Fiction. 5-9)"
Meet Juana, a lively and opinionated grade school girl growing up in Bogotá, Colombia. She strongly dislikes wearing her hot and itchy school uniform but even more having to learn to speak English: "Why not just speak in Spanish? It is SO much easier!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC PASTA by Juana Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"Younger kids are not likely to recognize many of the lesser-known types of pasta, but what a toothsome way to have fun with them. (Picture book. 5-10)"
Get your forks ready—this salute to pasta via the ABCs is truly entertaining, as the subtitle states. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WIZARD, THE UGLY, AND THE BOOK OF SHAME by Pablo Bernasconi
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"Some may enjoy it. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Bernasconi's idiosyncratic paint-and-collage illustrations turn his take on the "Sorcerer's Apprentice" into something strange and wild. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 2, 2005

Drawing from the pages of a recently "discovered" journal, Bernasconi chronicles the uniformly disastrous experiments of forgotten aviation pioneer Manuel J. Arsenio, an 18th-century Patagonian who, though he had "little knowledge of physics or mechanics and had access only to useless materials," turned to flight after failing at cheese making, scuba diving and other ventures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 12, 2013

"Far more than just a problem novel, this book sheds light on a serious issue without ever losing sight of its craft. (Fiction. 13-18)"
A nuanced, heart-wrenching and ultimately empowering story about bullying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A LITTLE LOVE by C.C. Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 5, 2000

"Solid, well-honed entertainment."
A treatise on love and culture, set against the backdrop of the new, hip Miami, explores the lives of four Latinas. Read full book review >