Search Results: "Pablo Serrano"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 16, 2012

"An inventive introduction to a fascinating historical figure. (map, chronology, glossary, sources and further reading) (Nonfiction. 10-12)"
Another collaborative effort by the team that created The Poet King of Tezcoco: A Great Leader of Ancient Mexico (2007) chronicles the life of a controversial figure in pre-colonial Mesoamerica. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: May 1, 2007

Equally accomplished in war, letters and (relatively) compassionate government, a strong ally of the Aztec Empire and a ruler who turned the city-state of Tezcoco (more often spelled Texcoco) into the Athens of pre-Conquest Mexico, Nezahualcóyotl is a historical figure whose name is well worth learning to pronounce. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RETURN OF FELIX NOGARA by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 7, 2000

Felix Nogara has returned to Barata, Cuba, after the death of its Marxist dictator Campion (a double for guess who). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT TO DO by Pablo Katchadjian
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 12, 2016

"An aesthetically pleasing but perplexing experiment that may prove too improvisational for many readers."
A writer and his friend talk about all manner of things while the world dissolves around them like a Salvador Dali painting. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 2, 2005

Drawing from the pages of a recently "discovered" journal, Bernasconi chronicles the uniformly disastrous experiments of forgotten aviation pioneer Manuel J. Arsenio, an 18th-century Patagonian who, though he had "little knowledge of physics or mechanics and had access only to useless materials," turned to flight after failing at cheese making, scuba diving and other ventures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WIZARD, THE UGLY, AND THE BOOK OF SHAME by Pablo Bernasconi
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"Some may enjoy it. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Bernasconi's idiosyncratic paint-and-collage illustrations turn his take on the "Sorcerer's Apprentice" into something strange and wild. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CUBOP CITY BLUES by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2012

"Love of life, music, sex and language redeem a work that might have benefited from more continuity and focus."
Storytelling that playfully illuminates the essence of storytelling, though heavier on atmosphere and color than narrative momentum and cohesion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRDS & OTHER ANIMALS WITH PABLO PICASSO by Pablo Picasso
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 24, 2017

"Simultaneously simple and sophisticated—but not for the baby and toddler board-book crowd; older preschoolers learning to make their own representational drawings will be inspired. (Board book. 3-5)"
An anthology of Picasso's animal sketches from various collections including birds, insects, and various mammals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CIGAR ROLLER by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2005

"A surprisingly superficial life story: More about the family and mistress and less about the drooling body in the bed would have been welcome."
The jumbled memories of the life and loves of a Cuban cigar roller: the third novel (The Return of Felix Nogara, 2000, etc.) from Medina, Cuban exile, poet, and professor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"Western history buffs will enjoy this entertaining but middling account, burrs under the saddle and all."
The story of an inspired stunt on the part of Buffalo Bill Cody, who organized a horse race from Nebraska to Chicago, the winner claiming his prize in the arena at Cody's Wild West Show right next door to the world-changing Columbian Exposition of 1893. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EPIC FAIL OF ARTURO ZAMORA by Pablo Cartaya
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 16, 2017

"Irresistibly exquisite. (author's note, recipes) (Fiction. 10-14)"
"When you decide you're going to tell a girl you like her, you need galactic-level courage." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MARKS OF BIRTH by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 1994

"Lyrical and stylish, this is a fine example of magical realism in the vein of Rudolfo Anaya and Gabriel Garc°a M†rquez."
An evocative novel about the trials and triumphs of a Hispanic family, from a Cuban-born poet and essayist (Exiled Memories, not reviewed). Read full book review >