Search Results: "Pamela Peery"


BOOK REVIEW

POP  by Pamela Peery
NON-FICTION
Released: May 6, 2014

"A solid, supportive advice book to help women through the physical and mental work of childbirth."
An accessible debut guidebook for pregnant women. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RIVER BEYOND THE WORLD by Janet Peery
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 17, 1996

"A strong story, peopled with credible, complex characters with whom we come, in some cases despite ourselves, to identify."
A lyrical, dramatic first novel, from the author of a well- received story collection (Alligator Dance, 1994), traces the passages and passions of women's lives with an ardent empathy that will remind many of the fiction of Barbara Kingsolver. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALLIGATOR DANCE by Janet Peery
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 30, 1993

"An unusually confident, mature, and moving debut."
Middle-aged men, young girls, and angry teenaged boys stumble across moments of rare grace—in ten moody, memorable tales set mostly in Texas and Oklahoma. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EXACT NATURE OF OUR WRONGS by Janet Peery
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"Ultimately satisfying, a quiet novel with lingering warmth."
A good-humored meditation on regret and forgiveness, Peery's latest (What the Thunder Said, 2007, etc.) follows the aging Campbell family, a clan as tightknit as it is troubled. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK FIRE by Nelson Peery
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 1994

"His autobiography provides not only a portrait of a fascinating life but a history of 20th-century black radicalism."
A well-written and engaging autobiography from a hitherto little-known figure in American radicalism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT THE THUNDER SAID by Janet Peery
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 6, 2007

"Less than fully achieved, but a book of considerable strength."
The complex relationship of two sisters who grow up, then apart, on an Oklahoma farm during the 1930s is grittily etched in the Virginian author's second novel (after The River Beyond the World, 1996). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHISPER by Pamela Zagarenski
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"Surreal, staggering mixed-media paintings make traveling across such beautifully varied and bizarre storyscapes exhilarating. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A "magical book" on loan from her teacher loses its words on the trip home, so a little girl spins her own stories for each enchanting picture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BELINDA by Pamela Allen
by Pamela Allen, illustrated by Pamela Allen
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1993

"Australian; perfect to share with a group. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Bessie milks Belinda every day, while Old Tom grows vegetables; but when Bessie goes to visit her daughter, Old Tom is to do the milking. ``There's a good girl,'' he croons, whereupon Belinda declares her intentions with ``one almighty kick.'' She's faster than he is, and also smart enough to snatch the carrot he offers before escaping. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY CAT MAISIE by Pamela Allen
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1991

"A perfect blend of text and pictures to make an entertaining story. (Picture book. 3-8)"
The big boy next door has a big dog named Lobo, but Andrew has no one to play with. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLIND FAITH HOTEL by Pamela Todd
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Permeated with themes of home, family, memory and loss, this title should appeal to fans of Han Nolan and Kimberly Willis Holt. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Fourteen-year-old Zoe is furious when her mom leaves her alcoholic, fisherman husband in the Pacific Northwest and moves the family back to Minnesota, where she has inherited an old house she intends to turn into a bed-and-breakfast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRAY HARD by Pamela Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Even if occasionally overburdened by its own symbolism, the book's twangy first person narrative keeps the reader engaged to the touching, tear-inducing end. (Fiction. 10-14)"
A clumsy, vision-seeing, forever-weeping ex-convict is the unlikely catalyst in Walker's affecting story of a daughter's emotional healing after the untimely death of her father in a plane accident. Read full book review >