Search Results: "Pamela Schembri"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"Black-and-white ink washes provide a pleasing accompaniment. (Fiction. 7-10)"
This entry in the chapter-book series Second Grade Friends tackles one bump in the friendship between Vinni and Emily. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHISPER by Pamela Zagarenski
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"Surreal, staggering mixed-media paintings make traveling across such beautifully varied and bizarre storyscapes exhilarating. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A "magical book" on loan from her teacher loses its words on the trip home, so a little girl spins her own stories for each enchanting picture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BELINDA by Pamela Allen
by Pamela Allen, illustrated by Pamela Allen
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1993

"Australian; perfect to share with a group. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Bessie milks Belinda every day, while Old Tom grows vegetables; but when Bessie goes to visit her daughter, Old Tom is to do the milking. ``There's a good girl,'' he croons, whereupon Belinda declares her intentions with ``one almighty kick.'' She's faster than he is, and also smart enough to snatch the carrot he offers before escaping. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY CAT MAISIE by Pamela Allen
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1991

"A perfect blend of text and pictures to make an entertaining story. (Picture book. 3-8)"
The big boy next door has a big dog named Lobo, but Andrew has no one to play with. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOT, COLD, SHY, BOLD by Pamela Harris
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"One picture that spans an entire spread—of two girls facing each other—is spoiled because the book's binding falls at a crucial area of the photograph; it shows that their 'how-do-you-do' faces are aimed not at each other, but at the buggy occupant of a jar. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A concept book in photographs that holds nothing new for those familiar with Tana Hoban's or Margaret Miller's work. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A MOUSE'S TALE by Pamela Johnson
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1991

"Unusually appealing. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In her first solo effort, an accomplished illustrator (Stolz's fantasies; science books about animals) describes a mouse who, wanting to go to sea, considers many progressively smaller vessels (ship, ferry, rowboat, etc.) before imaginatively constructing her own boat of natural materials. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HENRY & LEO by Pamela Zagarenski
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"Invite young readers to talk about this visual feast for the imagination, and something magical may happen. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The bond between a child and a beloved stuffed lion is put to the test. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLIND FAITH HOTEL by Pamela Todd
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Permeated with themes of home, family, memory and loss, this title should appeal to fans of Han Nolan and Kimberly Willis Holt. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Fourteen-year-old Zoe is furious when her mom leaves her alcoholic, fisherman husband in the Pacific Northwest and moves the family back to Minnesota, where she has inherited an old house she intends to turn into a bed-and-breakfast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRAY HARD by Pamela Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Even if occasionally overburdened by its own symbolism, the book's twangy first person narrative keeps the reader engaged to the touching, tear-inducing end. (Fiction. 10-14)"
A clumsy, vision-seeing, forever-weeping ex-convict is the unlikely catalyst in Walker's affecting story of a daughter's emotional healing after the untimely death of her father in a plane accident. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TURTLE WATCHERS by Pamela Powell
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 1992

"The sisters' interrelationships are merely sketched; for this black family and its neighbors, it's the lyrical connection with the environment that is of importance here. (Fiction. 8-12)"
After witnessing the nocturnal egg-laying of a leatherback turtle, sisters Philomena, Amelia, and Esther vow to protect the eggs and hatchlings from their Caribbean island's many predators, animal and human. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 3, 2006

"More reminiscent of Wilkie Collins than Jane Austen."
Second installment of Aidan's trilogy retelling Pride and Prejudice from Darcy's point of view. Read full book review >