Search Results: "Parker F. Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 12, 2011

"Enough to make even dolorous old Detective Beck—Sjöwall and Wahlöö's iconoclastic monolith—laugh out loud."
Campbell's delicious triple-dip spoof of Scandinavian spy fiction is the perfect antidote for intrigue-besotted readers weary of Wallander and done in by dreary, dragon-tattooed girls.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 22, 2011

"A blend of humor and thought-provoking content guaranteed to stimulate readers' intellect."
An unexpectedly fun collection of essays exploring the link between coffee and philosophy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG MACHINE by Scott Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"In his first outing as an author, Campbell shines. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A feel-good ride, full of droll artistic asides and an abundance of caring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK DIAMOND DETECTIVE AGENCY by Eddie Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2007

"The veteran artist rises to a new challenge."
A visually stunning graphic narrative with all sorts of complicated plot twists. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

NATHANIEL HAWTHORNE: FORERUNNER TO AMERICAN HORROR
by Andrew Liptak

It’s almost a rite of passage in high school: your English teacher takes out Nathaniel Hawthorne’s classic American novel The Scarlet Letter, and you, as a student, have to slog through the antiquated prose and story for several weeks. Friends and family don’t remember the book fondly, but recently, I’ve begun to understand just how critical The Scarlet Letter and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERMAID AND THE SHOE by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Although this luminous tale of self-discovery has echoes of 'The Little Mermaid,' like Minnow, it sings its own strong song. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Unlike her talented older sisters, a little mermaid feels disappointingly ordinary until her curiosity unveils her special skills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BOT AND SPARROW by Jake Parker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"Dreaming keeps memories alive for a very special robot in this sweet, quiet tale. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A mechanical-avian friendship is an endearing one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LESTER'S DREADFUL SWEATERS by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Children forced to wear horrid clothing made by well-meaning relatives will laugh in sympathy with Lester. If Edward Gorey and Polly Horvath had a literary love child, this would be it. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Cousin Clara, who may or may not be related to the rest of the family, knits horrid sweaters at a breakneck speed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WATER BABY by Ross Campbell
FRIENDS AND SCHOOL
Released: June 24, 2008

"Trying to be edgy with its no-holds-barred dialogue, this latest offering in the Minx line misses the mark and comes off as crude and at times, offensive. (Graphic novel. YA)"
Writer and artist Campbell introduces Brody, a rude surfer chick with a bad attitude who lives and plays by her own rules. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DYLAN THE VILLAIN by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 23, 2016

"Dylan may have his flaws, but he does his name proud. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Dylan Snivels wants to make a name for himself. Read full book review >