Search Results: "Patrick Cave"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SELECTED by Patrick Cave
FICTION
Released: July 20, 2010

"Constantly gripping, always fascinating and completely compelling. (Science fiction. YA)"
Both a prequel and a sequel to Sharp North (2006), this multiple-time-period dystopia can stand on its own for readers willing to accept some confusion until the world of the novel emerges. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

RENEE PATRICK
by Gerald Bartell

Reach for the popcorn. The silver screen sleuths from Paramount Pictures, one-time would be actress Lillian Fox and costume designer Edith Head (based upon the real life Oscar winner) team up for their second case in Renee Patrick’s Dangerous to Know. With Marlene Dietrich, Errol Flynn, Jack Benny, and George Burns firing off great lines, the caper is as much ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PATRICK HEMSTREET
by Rhett Morgan

Professionally, Patrick Hemstreet boasts experience as a neuroengineer, entrepreneur, patent-pending inventor, and Navy medic. Artistically, he has credits in acting, stand-up comedy, and, most importantly, writing. That long list of achievements feels impressive, but Hemstreet managed to distill his varied expertise into 2016’s surprise sci-fi bestseller, The God Wave. Originally self-published, Hemstreet’s novel explores advancements in human brain power—and the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WE CAN'T ALL BE BUFFY, BUT WE CAN STILL SLAY OUR DEMONS
by Sarah Pitre

 

BOOK REPORT for The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Cover Story: Montell Jordan
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 4
Talky Talk: 2 Legit 2 Quit
Bonus Factors: YA Clichés, Non–After School Special
Relationship Status: Extraordinary

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

This cover is a mothercussing masterpiece. Josh Cochran's illustrations are playful ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

YOU CAN'T GET MUCH BETTER THAN THIS
by Mandy Curtis

 

 

BOOK REPORT for More Than This by Patrick Ness

Cover Story: Holodeck Adventure

BFF Charm: Let Me Love You

Swoonworthy Scale: 2

Talky Talk: Runner’s High

Bonus Factor: Surprises

Relationship Status: Repopulate The Planet

Cover Story: Holodeck Adventure

Let’s queue ourselves up an adventure on the high seas, a trip to the wild ol’ west or make ourselves ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PATRICK NESS
by Gordon West

So there’s this kid named Adam. He has evangelical parents, an ex-boyfriend he’s in love with, and a current boyfriend with whom he’s not. Or is it vice-versa? Then there’s the ghost of a dead girl in-between chapters. She’s got an awesome name, a crummy past, and she’s being trailed by a giant faun. Oh—and there’s some Mrs. Dalloway undertones ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LONG LIVE THE DEAD by Hugh B. Cave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2000

"If stories like 'Dead Dog,' 'Shadow,' and 'Long Live the Dead' seem merely routine, even pulpophobes will admire 'The Missing Mr. Lee,' which packs six different narrators' versions of what happened to a vanished liquor salesman into a dozen clever, fast-paced pages."
If Cave, prolific author of over 40 books (with 3 more forthcoming from the still-active 90-year-old) and over 1200 short stories, isn't exactly a forgotten classic, he's a seasoned practitioner whose ten tales (1934-41) collected here, together with a substantial introduction and interview by Deutsch, are bound to appeal to fans of Spicy Detective Stories, Dime Detective, and, yes, Black Mask. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BOOKS TO FALL FOR
by Julie Danielson

I know we haven’t seen Summer picture book releases yet, so forgive me, but I’m looking at my stack of Fall picture book F&Gs and wanting to write a sneak-peek about some books I’m excited to see. F&Gs, for those who may think I’m suddenly and inexplicably cursing (“F&Gs” has always sounded like that to me), are early, pre-bound versions ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE THE FIRST KID ON MARS by Patrick O’Brien
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2009

Pairing a present-tense text to photorealistic digital paintings, O'Brien invites readers to take an entirely credible journey to Mars. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROSIE RABBIT'S BOOK OF OPPOSITES by Patrick Yee
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

"The bright paintbox colors and Rosie herself are the primary attractions for very young readers, but authors such as Rosemary Wells and Byron Barton did it first, and did it better. (Board book. 2-5)"
Yee juxtaposes images of Rosie the rabbit's front and back, Rosie on a hot day and a cold day, Rosie under an umbrella and over a gate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 3, 2012

"When death harkens, Cave provides a luminous, mindful taste of the alternatives."
A categorical account of humanity's attempt to achieve immortality, from European philosopher and Financial Times essayist Cave. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FELL OF DARK by Patrick Downes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 12, 2015

"A stunning debut novel that offers sophisticated readers a glimpse into the psychological disintegrations of two distinct characters. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Teenagers Erik and Thorn are descending into madness on converging paths, heading toward a ruinous first encounter with each other. Read full book review >