Search Results: "Patrick Cave"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SELECTED by Patrick Cave
FICTION
Released: July 20, 2010

"Constantly gripping, always fascinating and completely compelling. (Science fiction. YA)"
Both a prequel and a sequel to Sharp North (2006), this multiple-time-period dystopia can stand on its own for readers willing to accept some confusion until the world of the novel emerges. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PATRICK HEMSTREET
by Rhett Morgan

Professionally, Patrick Hemstreet boasts experience as a neuroengineer, entrepreneur, patent-pending inventor, and Navy medic. Artistically, he has credits in acting, stand-up comedy, and, most importantly, writing. That long list of achievements feels impressive, but Hemstreet managed to distill his varied expertise into 2016’s surprise sci-fi bestseller, The God Wave. Originally self-published, Hemstreet’s novel explores advancements in human brain power—and the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

RENEE PATRICK
by Gerald Bartell

Reach for the popcorn. The silver screen sleuths from Paramount Pictures, one-time would be actress Lillian Fox and costume designer Edith Head (based upon the real life Oscar winner) team up for their second case in Renee Patrick’s Dangerous to Know. With Marlene Dietrich, Errol Flynn, Jack Benny, and George Burns firing off great lines, the caper is as much ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PATRICK NESS
by Gordon West

So there’s this kid named Adam. He has evangelical parents, an ex-boyfriend he’s in love with, and a current boyfriend with whom he’s not. Or is it vice-versa? Then there’s the ghost of a dead girl in-between chapters. She’s got an awesome name, a crummy past, and she’s being trailed by a giant faun. Oh—and there’s some Mrs. Dalloway undertones ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LONG LIVE THE DEAD by Hugh B. Cave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2000

"If stories like 'Dead Dog,' 'Shadow,' and 'Long Live the Dead' seem merely routine, even pulpophobes will admire 'The Missing Mr. Lee,' which packs six different narrators' versions of what happened to a vanished liquor salesman into a dozen clever, fast-paced pages."
If Cave, prolific author of over 40 books (with 3 more forthcoming from the still-active 90-year-old) and over 1200 short stories, isn't exactly a forgotten classic, he's a seasoned practitioner whose ten tales (1934-41) collected here, together with a substantial introduction and interview by Deutsch, are bound to appeal to fans of Spicy Detective Stories, Dime Detective, and, yes, Black Mask. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE THE FIRST KID ON MARS by Patrick O’Brien
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2009

Pairing a present-tense text to photorealistic digital paintings, O'Brien invites readers to take an entirely credible journey to Mars. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROSIE RABBIT'S BOOK OF OPPOSITES by Patrick Yee
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

"The bright paintbox colors and Rosie herself are the primary attractions for very young readers, but authors such as Rosemary Wells and Byron Barton did it first, and did it better. (Board book. 2-5)"
Yee juxtaposes images of Rosie the rabbit's front and back, Rosie on a hot day and a cold day, Rosie under an umbrella and over a gate. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BOOKS TO FALL FOR
by Julie Danielson

I know we haven’t seen Summer picture book releases yet, so forgive me, but I’m looking at my stack of Fall picture book F&Gs and wanting to write a sneak-peek about some books I’m excited to see. F&Gs, for those who may think I’m suddenly and inexplicably cursing (“F&Gs” has always sounded like that to me), are early, pre-bound versions ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

FELL OF DARK by Patrick Downes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 12, 2015

"A stunning debut novel that offers sophisticated readers a glimpse into the psychological disintegrations of two distinct characters. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Teenagers Erik and Thorn are descending into madness on converging paths, heading toward a ruinous first encounter with each other. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MORE THAN THIS by Patrick Ness
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 10, 2013

"In characteristic style, the author of the Chaos Walking trilogy delves into the stuff of nightmares for an existential exploration of the human psyche. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Seth, not yet 17, walks into the Pacific Ocean and ends his life. Or does he? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REVIVED by Cat Patrick
Released: May 8, 2012

"Good entertainment with some unexpected depth. (Science fiction. 12 & up)"
A well-done exploration of a teen's growing understanding of death, even though she herself has died five times. Read full book review >