Search Results: "Paul Meisel"


BOOK REVIEW

PAUL by A.N. Wilson
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 1997

In a worthy companion volume to his Jesus: A Life (1992), novelist-biographer Wilson (A Watch in the Night, 1996, etc.) adeptly recreates the milieu of Christianity's greatest interpreter and missionary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL by Jerome Murphy-O'Connor
NON-FICTION
Released: July 1, 1996

"Acts, though historically imprecise, makes for a much better story."
A dry historical tome that would be more aptly titled ``Paul: A Cultural History.'' The difficulties of doing ancient biography are compounded when one of the two major sources available is believed to be historically unreliable and corrupt. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Paul by Gesner Noel
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 5, 2016

"An excellent single-volume introduction to Christianity's first theologian."
A brief but thorough account of St. Paul's life and an analysis of its significance in the subsequent development of Christianity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE ME DIG by Paul  Meisel
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"New readers will dig this. (Early reader. 5-8)"
In this gem of an early reader, a cast of cavorting canines find more than they expected when they start digging—namely a scary bear, buried treasure, pirate ghosts and heavy construction equipment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE ME RUN by Paul  Meisel
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Formatted in a larger trim than the usual early reader, this imaginary rumpus is just right for beginners to successfully read and reread. (Early reader. 5-7)"
A dog set free to run and roam in a dog park uncovers an archeological surprise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SEE A CAT  by Paul  Meisel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"Another successful addition to the I Like to Read series: 'I see a winner!' (Early reader. 4-8)"
Ten words may be all it takes to convince some young children to try reading. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY AWESOME SUMMER BY P. MANTIS by Paul  Meisel
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2017

"Though the rather jarring juxtaposition of text and art styles keeps it from being totally awesome, this is a fun and fascinating read. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A journallike text paired with detailed illustrations recounts the day-to-day life of a praying mantis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZARA’S HATS by Paul  Meisel
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2003

"Zara's story will be a perfect fit for hat-themed story hours. (Picture book. 4-8)"
For his first effort at creating the story as well as the illustrations, Meisel (Energy Makes Things Happen, Jan. 2003, etc.) pays homage to his family history by using the names and occupation of his own great-grandparents and grandmother. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, BAT! GOOD MORNING, SQUIRREL! by Paul  Meisel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Odd-couple stories are far from an endangered species, but this one's worth making room for. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Homeless Bat moves in, unannounced, with Squirrel. Can this odd couple live together in peace? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STINKY SPIKE THE PIRATE DOG by Peter Meisel
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 14, 2017

"Cast off, me hearties, and meet a dog that brings both the yo ho hos and the nose. (Adventure. 7-9)"
A pungent pup must prove his worth to a bumbling piratical crew. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY TEACHER IS AN IDIOM by Jamie Gilson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"Nothing to write home about. (Fiction. 7-12)"
Confusion about idioms plus rudeness in the cafeteria equals unpleasant consequences for second-graders Patrick and Richard. Read full book review >