Search Results: "Paul Acampora"


BOOK REVIEW

I KILL THE MOCKINGBIRD by Paul Acampora
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 20, 2014

"It'll make readers look at reading and activism in a whole new light. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Literary terrorists hit Connecticut, and things go awry for a trio of well-meaning book addicts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO AVOID EXTINCTION by Paul Acampora
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"Late in the book, a character sums up the plot by saying, 'That's the key to happiness….Join the right circus.' Despite some flaws, this book is the right circus. (Fiction. 8-12)"
A screwball comedy sends Leo, his older cousin, Abbey, his grandmother, and a golden retriever across the country in a 1973 Buick Electra. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RACHEL SPINELLI PUNCHED ME IN THE FACE by Paul Acampora
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 30, 2011

"An outstanding, humane coming-of-age tale of loss, yearning and forgiveness. (Fiction. 10-14)"
New friends ease a young teen's adjustment to his mother's sudden absence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEFINING DULCIE by Paul Acampora
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2006

"The girls are spunky but oddly genderless, and Grandpa Frank is too wise and too patient to be believed, but teens who want to think of themselves as capable of self-sufficiency will connect to Dulcie and her independent attitude. (Fiction. YA)"
Dulcie's dad and grandfather were the school janitors in her Connecticut town, until her dad died in a chemical accident. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WONDER GARDEN by Lauren Acampora
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 5, 2015

"A cleareyed lens into the strange, human wants of upper-class suburbia."
The odd interior lives of suburban Connecticut residents are unceremoniously unearthed in the interwoven stories of Acampora's debut. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVER AND HIS EGG by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2014

"Still, this young boy's imagination is a powerful force for helping him deal with life, something that should be true for all children but sadly isn't. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Oliver, of first-day-of-school alligator fame, is back, imagining adventures and still struggling to find balance between introversion and extroversion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVER AND HIS ALLIGATOR by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 25, 2013

"On the first day, both the light and the dark sides of kindergartners will go to school, their kissing hands clutching a stuffed alligator, self-confidence soaring. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Going into the darkness beyond Petunia Goes Wild! (2012), Schmid enters the tongue-in-cheek metaphorical alligator/crocodile waters of Candace Fleming (Who Invited You?, illustrated by George Booth, 2001) and Joe Kulka (My Crocodile Does Not Bite, 2013). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WOODS by Paul Hoppe
by Paul Hoppe, illustrated by Paul Hoppe
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2011

"Hoppe's delightfully quirky monsters enhance this pleasant tonic for bedtime fears. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The night light is on and the bedtime story firmly in the young narrator's grasp, but stuffed bunny is nowhere to be found! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUNDAY LOVE by Alison Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2010

"This is a forgettable young cousin of David Macaulay's brilliant postmodern Black and White, without that classic's depth and artistry. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Tipping her hat to the old riddle theme "black and white and red all over," Paul supplies an action-packed story that founders in visual chaos. Read full book review >