Search Results: "Paul Blackwell"


BOOK REVIEW

UNDERCURRENT by Paul Blackwell
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 23, 2013

"The framework never jells, leaving the plot points suspended in the mist of the falls themselves. (Thriller. 14 & up)"
A potentially deadly trip over a waterfall turns out to be the least of teenage Cal's problems. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Dec. 1, 2010

"Blackwell's inspiring call to action will help women get out of their own way on the path to fulfillment."
In her first book, a former executive coach and certified change agent attempts to provide readers the tools they need to eliminate the situations that weigh them down. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUNGER by Elise Blackwell
Released: April 15, 2003

"Ambitiously conceived, carefully planned, impeccably researched—but, like a kind of term-paper-novel, curiously unmoving."
Blackwell's little slip of a debut derives from the life of the real biologist and geneticist Nikolai Vavilov as it tells the story of a fictional scientist who survives the siege of Leningrad and life under Stalinism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 5, 2012

"In each chapter, Blackwell finds he loves the polluted places for all the ways they aren't ruined. With great verve, and without sounding preachy, he exposes the essence and interconnectedness of these environmental problems."
Humor and dry wit lighten a travelogue of the most polluted and ravaged places in the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOWER QUARTER by Elise Blackwell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 21, 2015

"An artful, gritty love story, eulogy, and survivor narrative for the city of New Orleans post-Katrina."
A man arrives in post-Katrina New Orleans, looking to solve the mystery of a missing painting and a related murder. What he finds is nothing less than love, sacrifice, survival, genius, depravity, and hope. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRUB by Elise Blackwell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Gossipy, with insider elements that may limit its audience to aspiring writers—but a quick-paced, amusing novel."
Blackwell's third novel (The Unnatural History of Cypress Parish, 2007, etc.) is a fizzy contemporary-Manhattan retelling of New Grub Street, George Gissing's 1891 jeremiad about the London literary marketplace.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHILE BEAUTY SLEPT by Elizabeth Blackwell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 20, 2014

"Intelligent escapism that should please Brothers Grimm lovers more than Disney fans."
In her first novel, Blackwell keeps her retelling of "Sleeping Beauty" in the once-upon-a-time past but makes the standard version's reliance on magic subservient to a more psychological/sociological interpretation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LETTERS FROM PARIS by Juliet Blackwell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"A compelling story of Paris, art, and love throughout history."
A woman's quest to discover the origin of a haunting heirloom leads her to a foreign country and family secrets in this novel from Blackwell (The Paris Key, 2015). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 1, 1972

"Be that as it may, the case data collected from the bilked (over 500 active and retired workers responded to a pension questionnaire), along with complementary information from benefit system authorities and government sources, provide another of those Naderesque true stories of quacksalvers practicing their venality in high financial places."
The message here — delivered in those per usual Nader flat tones of impeccable integrity and exhortatory conviction — is that many millions of Americans enrolled in private pension plans are cheated each year of the benefits due them and hence of anticipated retirement security. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >