Search Results: "Paul Bracken"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Bracken's prescriptions on how to deal with an increasingly nuclear world are surely debatable, but to gauge by this well-tempered essay, it's a debate worth holding."
Defense Department consultant Bracken (Fire in the East: The Rise of Asian Military Power and the Second Nuclear Age, 1999, etc.) writes that the nuclear genie is truly out of the bottle, and current efforts at nuclear disarmament ignore geopolitical realities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 8, 2013

"An optimistic view of short-lived humans."
A wide-ranging debut exploration of how civilization deals with the reality of the finite life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRINCESS, THE SCOUNDREL, AND THE FARM BOY by Alexandra Bracken
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"A competent novelization of a beloved story. (Science fantasy. 8-12)"
Bracken launches this retelling with the first of the original Star Wars trilogy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PASSENGER by Alexandra Bracken
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"Long but intriguing, and sometimes exciting—the payoff is in the future. (Fantasy. 12-18)"
A dedicated violinist finds her life taking a different turn when she learns that she is a time traveler in this series opener. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIGHT OF OTHER DAYS by Pauline Bracken
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"Sentimental but not wretched; uneventfully sweet description of a passing generation."
Cheerful sketches of a '40s and '50s girlhood in coastal Blackrock, on the southeast of Dublin, evoked by the author as a once-fashionable watering place retaining traces of its former elegance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DREADFUL TALE OF PROSPER REDDING  by Alexandra Bracken
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"Strong characters and humor lift an otherwise slow and complicated plot. (Fantasy/horror. 9-14)"
The consequences of a centuries-old bargain fall on Prosper Redding. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DARKEST MINDS by Alexandra Bracken
Released: Dec. 18, 2012

"Be prepared—the darkest minds do indeed 'hide behind the most unlikely faces.' (Dystopian thriller. 14 & up)"
Imagine a not-too-distant future in which 98 percent of America's 10- to 17-year-olds have fallen victim to disease, and the remaining 2 percent are imprisoned in "rehabilitation camps," thanks to a paranoid government that fears the powers they possess. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIGHTLY WOVEN by Alexandra Bracken
FANTASY
Released: March 23, 2010

"A guilty pleasure, perhaps, but a pleasure nonetheless. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
Conventional teen tropes translate surprisingly well to fantasy romance in an uneven debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAYFARER by Alexandra Bracken
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Far too lengthy for any but the most avid fans. (Fantasy. 12-18)"
Star-crossed time-traveling lovers Etta and Nicholas, now separated, try to find each other in adventures across the world and history in this continuation of Passenger (2016). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >