Search Results: "Paul Bright"


BOOK REVIEW

UNDER THE BED by Paul Bright
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2004

"For all of Bright's vivid imagery and Cort's grand detonations of color as he goes about depicting this cockamamie bestiary, this is a very soothing affair, especially suitable for bedtime reading. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Sure, there are lots of things under the bed you'll be sleeping in tonight, but as Bright rhymes it, they're too busy or lazy or sleepy or scared to be bothering you. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NOT-SO SCARY SNORKLUM by Paul Bright
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Brisk and bright, yet subtle in its message. (Picture book. 3-6)"
What can little creatures do to protect themselves from the forest bully? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRUNCH MUNCH DINOSAUR LUNCH! by Paul Bright
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2010

"Truly, a big brother worth the 'wuv.' (Picture book. 3-6)"
Little sisters can be such a pain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THERE'S A BISON BOUNCING ON THE BED! by Paul Bright
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2016

"Bland fare for bed jumpers, but the point about shared responsibility is a good one to make—blunted though it is by the ending. (Picture book. 4-6)"
If the bed won't break with a bison bouncing on it, surely a few smaller animals won't do any harm…will they? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY LAUGHS AT A LION! by Paul Bright
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2005

"A simple but fun read. (Picture book. 4-8)"
From its sunny orange and yellow endpapers to the expressive watercolors inside, readers will be cheered by the simple tale of jungle animals each of whom has a talent that bests the skills of the king of the jungle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOLE STORY by Paul Bright
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2017

"A good choice for budding philosophers. (Picture book. 4-9)"
A first step into the world of ontology, picture-book style! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEARS IN THE BED AND THE GREAT BIG STORM by Paul Bright
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Human 'scaredy-bears' will enjoy the humorous turn and probably find comfort in the repetition and Chapman's trademark cuddly illustrations. (Picture book. 3-6)"
It seems that all the little bears in this family are "scaredy-bears" when it comes to thunderstorms. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRUMPY BADGER’S CHRISTMAS by Paul Bright
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"The oversized format helps provide a good look at Chapman's cast of endearing animal characters. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The animals of the forest are preparing for Christmas, but Grumpy Badger just wants to settle down for his long winter's nap. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHARLIE’S SUPERHERO UNDERPANTS by Paul Bright
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2010

"A winner—KERZAP! (Picture book. 3-6)"
Without his special undies, what's a young superhero to do? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M NOT GOING OUT THERE! by Paul Bright
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Siblings may smile, but even those who fight similar battles regularly will agree that this is slight entertainment at best. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Bouncy rhymes, bright colors and an entertaining punch line make this likely to amuse young listeners—at least the first time through. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >