Search Results: "Paul Cartledge"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 5, 2004

"A literate rendering of Alexander's life, drawing on the most reliable ancient and modern sources. (See also Steven Pressfield's The Virtues of War: A Novel of Alexander the Great)"
Master of the Persian Empire at the age of 26, conqueror of Central Asia at 30, dead at 32. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 25, 2003

"Chocked with learning lightly worn, and a pleasure for anyone interested in the ancient world."
A lucid, literate history of a model society—though whether a model of good or evil remains a subject of debate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 15, 2006

"A class in Western Civilization that both instructs and entertains."
A masterful account of the causes, preparations for and consequences of the three-day battle in 480 b.c. that claimed the lives of all 300 Spartan defenders of the eponymous pass and those of perhaps as many as 20,000 Persian invaders. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEMOCRACY by Paul Cartledge
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2016

"No library should be without this wonderful book, in which Cartledge has abundantly shared his love and knowledge of ancient Greece with us."
A compact but rich education in classics and democracy, from a leading expert who delights in his subject. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

MRS. MO'S MONSTER by Paul Beavis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Effervescent, in an entirely understated sort of way. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The unflappable Mrs. Mo tames a rude monster with some patient mentoring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BAD DOG FLASH by Ruth Paul
by Ruth Paul, illustrated by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"This No, David! with a canine protagonist should appeal to a broad audience, whether dog lovers or not. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A humorous story about a lovable, troublemaking puppy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZARA’S HATS by Paul  Meisel
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2003

"Zara's story will be a perfect fit for hat-themed story hours. (Picture book. 4-8)"
For his first effort at creating the story as well as the illustrations, Meisel (Energy Makes Things Happen, Jan. 2003, etc.) pays homage to his family history by using the names and occupation of his own great-grandparents and grandmother. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS TRUCK by Paul Collicutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 4, 2004

"Still, an avid fan of trucks and Collicutt's other works (This Train, This Plane) will have much here to happily pore over. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A visual tour of working machines, the text doesn't name the trucks, but rather delivers hints such as the vehicles job or size. Read full book review >