Search Results: "Paul Cleave"


BOOK REVIEW

COLLECTING COOPER by Paul Cleave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 26, 2011

"Horrormeister Cleave (Blood Men, 2010, etc.), who is surely indebted to John Fowles' The Collector for aspects of his plot, will scare you to death, or at least to the point of keeping a night light on."
Serial killers collide in Christchurch, New Zealand. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAUGHTERHOUSE by Paul Cleave
Released: Aug. 21, 2012

"An intense and bloody noir thriller, one often descending into a violent abyss reminiscent of Thomas Harris, creator of Hannibal Lecter."
In Cleave's (Collecting Cooper, 2011, etc.) third psycho-thriller, Theodore Tate is the quintessential flawed hero, a damaged soul hunting deviants in a forest of moral quandaries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOE VICTIM by Paul Cleave
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"A little Hannibal Lector. A little Richard von Krafft-Ebing. A lot of gore."
In his latest noir thriller, Cleave (Cemetery Lake, 2013, etc.) again stumbles into the evil environs of contemporary Christchurch, New Zealand. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOOD MEN by Paul Cleave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 20, 2010

"Neither Edward's existential struggle nor the tracking of the robbers are suspenseful enough to keep our interest."
Dad is a serial killer. Can his son avoid the same fate? That's the question posed by New Zealander Cleave in his exceptionally gory fourth novel (Cemetery Lake, 2009, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CLEANER by Paul Cleave
Released: Dec. 11, 2012

"This story is the literary equivalent of standing on the street beneath a skyscraper watching a disturbed soul teeter on a ledge, threatening to jump."
A detailed look inside the mind of a remorseless serial killer penned by a New Zealand-based writer who specializes in gore and the gruesome side of crime. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CEMETERY LAKE by Paul Cleave
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 18, 2013

"Contemporary crime noir at its best, mined from the dark pit of the human psyche."
Thriller author Cleave (The Laughter House, 2012, etc.) opens the door on the haunted history of his disgraced detective Theo Tate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A KILLER HARVEST by Paul Cleave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Starting with a macabre setup, Cleave keeps upping the stakes till any scrap of plausibility is left far behind and only an increasingly effective series of hair-raising thrills remains."
Nightmare specialist Cleave (Trust No One, 2015, etc.) puts a new spin on the old horror chestnut that transplants a dead killer's organs into an innocent victim. Make that several new spins. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIVE MINUTES ALONE by Paul Cleave
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 21, 2014

"'All of this killing has made him feel,' Carl's exhilarated to realize. Readers following him through this season of Breaking Bad reworked by the Coen Brothers will feel the whole gamut right along with him."
Think vigilante killers have it easy? Cleave offers a macabre, compelling demonstration of how Murphy's Law dogs the efforts of ex-cop Carl Schroder to give victims of violent crime the five minutes alone they crave with the criminals who've ruined their lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRUST NO ONE by Paul Cleave
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 4, 2015

"A vivid, jangled exploration of mental illness, dark imagination, and the nowhere territory in between ."
The horror of early-onset Alzheimer's deepens even further for a man who isn't sure whether he's a killer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INCENDIARY by Chris Cleave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2005

"Who knows what? Whom can we trust? Like David Mitchell's Ghostwritten, Cleave's provocative debut will make readers a little uneasy—and that's okay."
A grieving widow and mother composes a letter to Osama Bin Laden. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >