Search Results: "Paul Cody"


BOOK REVIEW

PAUL by N.T. Wright
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"A very human Paul, brought to life by an experienced teacher and pastor—an excellent introduction for general readers."
Wright (New Testament and Early Christianity/University of St. Andrews; The Day the Revolution Began: Reconsidering the Meaning of Jesus's Crucifixion, 2016, etc.) draws from a lifetime of study on the figure of Paul to construct this useful biography of the early Christian missionary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL by A.N. Wilson
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 1997

In a worthy companion volume to his Jesus: A Life (1992), novelist-biographer Wilson (A Watch in the Night, 1996, etc.) adeptly recreates the milieu of Christianity's greatest interpreter and missionary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL by Jerome Murphy-O'Connor
NON-FICTION
Released: July 1, 1996

"Acts, though historically imprecise, makes for a much better story."
A dry historical tome that would be more aptly titled ``Paul: A Cultural History.'' The difficulties of doing ancient biography are compounded when one of the two major sources available is believed to be historically unreliable and corrupt. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Paul by Gesner Noel
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 5, 2016

"An excellent single-volume introduction to Christianity's first theologian."
A brief but thorough account of St. Paul's life and an analysis of its significance in the subsequent development of Christianity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CODY AND THE RULES OF LIFE by Trisha Springstubb
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"These rules come with a powerful subtext that seems to say that theft is wrong, but manipulation may be acceptable. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Big brother Wyatt pays more attention to his new bike than to Cody, who helped assemble it, but when it's stolen, her jealousy turns to empathy—she's just lost something precious herself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CODY AND THE FOUNTAIN OF HAPPINESS by Trisha Springstubb
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 14, 2015

"Cody is sure to make friends with many readers, who will cross their fingers and hope for further adventures. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Well-meaning Cody is excited about the first day of her summer vacation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE IS BOTH WAVE AND PARTICLE by Paul Cody
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Strictly for fans of Miss Porter's, Wegmans, and the Vineyard. (Fiction. 14-17)"
Two teens find healing through a senior writing project at an upscale school serving gifted youth with psychiatric disorders in Ithaca, New York. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SO FAR GONE by Paul Cody
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 27, 1998

"A skillful novel of great power, anger, and compassion."
Once again, Cody (Eyes Like Mine, 1996, etc.) penetrates the fevered inner landscape of a victim. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHOOTING THE HEART by Paul Cody
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 10, 2004

"Not every reader will want to explore this depressing terrain, but Cody writes with an elegance and dignity that deserve recognition."
In a fourth outing, Cody (So Far Gone, 1998, etc.), who tends to take his readers down the darker back alleys of the human psyche, explores the mind of a mental patient who may have killed his wife. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EYES LIKE MINE by Paul Cody
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 1996

"Spare, dignified, relentlessly intelligent prose fiction. (First serial to Harper's)"
Cody's second effort, after The Stolen Child (1995), is a novel of emotional concision and deeply felt beauty that's capable of recalling Ian McEwan and Raymond Carver. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STOLEN CHILD by Paul Cody
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 25, 1995

"A raw, moving tale—and a parents' chiller."
A first-novelist's biting, pitiless penetration of a nightmare: the 1963 abduction, drugging, and mental crippling of a nine-year-old boy as seen through the eyes of a variety of witnesses and those it touches—and has touched—indirectly over three decades. Read full book review >