Search Results: "Paul Cody"


BOOK REVIEW

EYES LIKE MINE by Paul Cody
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 1996

"Spare, dignified, relentlessly intelligent prose fiction. (First serial to Harper's)"
Cody's second effort, after The Stolen Child (1995), is a novel of emotional concision and deeply felt beauty that's capable of recalling Ian McEwan and Raymond Carver. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STOLEN CHILD by Paul Cody
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 25, 1995

"A raw, moving tale—and a parents' chiller."
A first-novelist's biting, pitiless penetration of a nightmare: the 1963 abduction, drugging, and mental crippling of a nine-year-old boy as seen through the eyes of a variety of witnesses and those it touches—and has touched—indirectly over three decades. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE IS BOTH WAVE AND PARTICLE by Paul Cody
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Strictly for fans of Miss Porter's, Wegmans, and the Vineyard. (Fiction. 14-17)"
Two teens find healing through a senior writing project at an upscale school serving gifted youth with psychiatric disorders in Ithaca, New York. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SO FAR GONE by Paul Cody
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 27, 1998

"A skillful novel of great power, anger, and compassion."
Once again, Cody (Eyes Like Mine, 1996, etc.) penetrates the fevered inner landscape of a victim. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHOOTING THE HEART by Paul Cody
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 10, 2004

"Not every reader will want to explore this depressing terrain, but Cody writes with an elegance and dignity that deserve recognition."
In a fourth outing, Cody (So Far Gone, 1998, etc.), who tends to take his readers down the darker back alleys of the human psyche, explores the mind of a mental patient who may have killed his wife. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 1992

"Book-trade nostalgia, vanished bestsellers, and an affecting pair of dedicated book-people make for a gentle stroll through two decades. (Sixteen b&w photographs.)"
The story of a legendary paperback bookstore in Berkeley and its two owners, and of how it grew, and grew, and grew. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PEDDLER'S ROAD by Matthew Cody
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"A muddled and meandering series opener; perhaps things will coalesce in Book 2. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
While accompanying their father on his research trip to Hamelin, Germany, 13-year-old Max and her 10-year-old brother, Carter, find that the Pied Piper is not just a fairy tale, but a very real and present danger. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POWERLESS by Matthew Cody
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"Cody wears his influences on his sleeve, but has some fun with them (one lad's 'power' is a super-stench) and crafts a tribute that, unlike M.T. Anderson's Whales On Stilts (2005), is more admiring than silly. (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Resembling a Golden Age comic without the pictures, this tale pits a group of small-town children with superpowers—call them "preteen titans"—against a shadowy menace that robs them of those powers on their 13th birthdays. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUCKET NUT by Liza Cody
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 2, 1993

"Super Cody."
A sizzling debut for the author's unlikely new heroine- -Junoesque, foulmouthed Eva Wylie, daughter of an alcoholic prostitute. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DARKER SIDE by Cody McFadyen
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Lots of gasping, but no real thrills."
Agent Smoky Barrett (The Face of Death, 2007, etc.) pulls out all professional and emotional stops to nail a secretive serial killer who goes public with the in-flight stabbing of a transsexual. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COWBOY'S HANDBOOK by Tod Cody
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 1996

"The author, a descendent of Buffalo Bill, brings an enthusiasm to his subject that is perfectly attuned to the curiosity of young readers. (Nonfiction. 7-10)"
A compendium of information and tidbits about cowboys, including full-color and black-and-white photographs and drawings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 1995

"Despite a few slow stretches, good reading for the armchair adventurer and a guarantee of some vicarious thrills. (7 maps, 12 drawings)"
A middle-age canoeist braves the hazards of boulders, bears, and barges in this narration, which occasionally hits snags, of a 1,200-mile solo voyage on the mighty river. Read full book review >