Search Results: "Paul Cody"


BOOK REVIEW

SO FAR GONE by Paul Cody
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 27, 1998

"A skillful novel of great power, anger, and compassion."
Once again, Cody (Eyes Like Mine, 1996, etc.) penetrates the fevered inner landscape of a victim. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EYES LIKE MINE by Paul Cody
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 1996

"Spare, dignified, relentlessly intelligent prose fiction. (First serial to Harper's)"
Cody's second effort, after The Stolen Child (1995), is a novel of emotional concision and deeply felt beauty that's capable of recalling Ian McEwan and Raymond Carver. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHOOTING THE HEART by Paul Cody
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 10, 2004

"Not every reader will want to explore this depressing terrain, but Cody writes with an elegance and dignity that deserve recognition."
In a fourth outing, Cody (So Far Gone, 1998, etc.), who tends to take his readers down the darker back alleys of the human psyche, explores the mind of a mental patient who may have killed his wife. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE IS BOTH WAVE AND PARTICLE by Paul Cody
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Strictly for fans of Miss Porter's, Wegmans, and the Vineyard. (Fiction. 14-17)"
Two teens find healing through a senior writing project at an upscale school serving gifted youth with psychiatric disorders in Ithaca, New York. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STOLEN CHILD by Paul Cody
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 25, 1995

"A raw, moving tale—and a parents' chiller."
A first-novelist's biting, pitiless penetration of a nightmare: the 1963 abduction, drugging, and mental crippling of a nine-year-old boy as seen through the eyes of a variety of witnesses and those it touches—and has touched—indirectly over three decades. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 1992

"Book-trade nostalgia, vanished bestsellers, and an affecting pair of dedicated book-people make for a gentle stroll through two decades. (Sixteen b&w photographs.)"
The story of a legendary paperback bookstore in Berkeley and its two owners, and of how it grew, and grew, and grew. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PEDDLER'S ROAD by Matthew Cody
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"A muddled and meandering series opener; perhaps things will coalesce in Book 2. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
While accompanying their father on his research trip to Hamelin, Germany, 13-year-old Max and her 10-year-old brother, Carter, find that the Pied Piper is not just a fairy tale, but a very real and present danger. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POWERLESS by Matthew Cody
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"Cody wears his influences on his sleeve, but has some fun with them (one lad's 'power' is a super-stench) and crafts a tribute that, unlike M.T. Anderson's Whales On Stilts (2005), is more admiring than silly. (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Resembling a Golden Age comic without the pictures, this tale pits a group of small-town children with superpowers—call them "preteen titans"—against a shadowy menace that robs them of those powers on their 13th birthdays. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DARKER SIDE by Cody McFadyen
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Lots of gasping, but no real thrills."
Agent Smoky Barrett (The Face of Death, 2007, etc.) pulls out all professional and emotional stops to nail a secretive serial killer who goes public with the in-flight stabbing of a transsexual. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUCKET NUT by Liza Cody
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 2, 1993

"Super Cody."
A sizzling debut for the author's unlikely new heroine- -Junoesque, foulmouthed Eva Wylie, daughter of an alcoholic prostitute. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MUSCLEBOUND by Liza Cody
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 10, 1997

Down but not out, that's Eva Wylie, the erstwhile London Lassassin who's been barred from wrestling because she had too much pride in her work to wear the ridiculous getup the omnipotent promoter Daddy (``Dirty'') Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

[SIC] by Joshua Cody
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 17, 2011

"A celebration of the senses, the arts and life itself, within what the author terms 'a story about God and vomiting.'"
Occasionally overwritten but powerfully provocative memoir about death and drugs that is likely to attract a lot of attention. Read full book review >