Search Results: "Paul Collicutt"


BOOK REVIEW

THIS CAR by Paul Collicutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2002

"This car has an open top'—and a rousing final close-up of an old-style racing car barreling past, this has everything but sound effects to please fans of wheeled and winged zoomers. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-6)"
The creator of This Train (1999), This Plane (2000), and This Boat (2001) will continue to transport new and pre-readers with an array of vehicles at work and play. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS ROCKET by Paul Collicutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 7, 2005

"Yet, as always, it's Collicutt's artwork that speaks volumes: It is, appropriately, utterly transporting, with Collicutt providing both wonderfully specific drawings of rockets and backdrops in which readers can fully immerse themselves. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Collicutt is well known for his bold and energetic picture books on transportation vehicles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS TRUCK by Paul Collicutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 4, 2004

"Still, an avid fan of trucks and Collicutt's other works (This Train, This Plane) will have much here to happily pore over. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A visual tour of working machines, the text doesn't name the trucks, but rather delivers hints such as the vehicles job or size. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY IN PERIL! by Paul Collicutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"Multiples are not a bad idea. (Graphic fiction. 8-11)"
Curtis is a walking, talking lighthouse-headed robot who protects the coast of Robot City with his trusty human crew, Ali and Steve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS BOAT by Paul Collicutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 8, 2001

"Ready to sail' indeed. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Bold, bright, and sassy is Collicutt's armada of boats in this picture book for the very young enthusiast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS TRAIN by Paul Collicutt
Released: Sept. 8, 1999

"Collicutt offers a tribute void of fustiness, a salute that looks too 'now' to be nostalgic. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Passenger trains may be disappearing from the American landscape but Collicutt's resplendent illustrations portray them in all their streamlined glory. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A SURPRISE FOR GIRAFFE AND ELEPHANT by Paul Gude
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 17, 2015

"Readers can't help but feel lifted after spending time with these two companions. (Picture book. 3-5)"
The welcome return of odd-couple pals Elephant and Giraffe (When Elephant Met Giraffe, 2014).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO WORLD! by Paul Beavis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"A calmly surreal invitation to explore. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Mrs. Mo's Monster (2014), he of the snaggly teeth, spiky blue fur, and lolling pink tongue, is still in the attic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED PANDA'S CANDY APPLES by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2014

"The message appears to be the treats are best when shared, which makes Red Panda's attempt at entrepreneurship all the odder. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Who can resist candy apples? Not Red Panda. Read full book review >