Search Results: "Paul Collins"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 14, 2011

"Both a gripping true-crime narrative and an astonishing portrait of fin de siècle yellow journalism."
Collins (English/Portland State Univ.; The Book of William: How Shakespeare's First Folio Changed the World, 2010, etc.) unpacks a sensational 1897 murder case that fascinated the public as it played out across the front pages of the New York City's leading newspapers: Joseph Pulitzer's New York World and William Randolph Hearst's New York Journal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 4, 2013

"A rousing tale of the longest murder trial to that date in Manhattan, and the author's conjecture as to the true villain is spot-on—but he should have focused more on the trial."
Ostensibly the tale of a dramatic murder trial with three famous defense attorneys, "the first fully recorded murder trial in U.S. history," but actually more of an intriguing exploration of Manhattan in 1799. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"Literary travel meets history, laced with cartloads of trivia and endless good humor. Somewhere Tom Paine, scourge of kings and conventions, is smiling."
The embodiment of revolution comes in for an appropriately anarchic—and wild, and thoroughly enjoyable—appreciation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SIXPENCE HOUSE by Paul Collins
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2003

"A treat for the bibliophile."
Entertaining memoir of the expatriate author's retreat to a bookish town in Wales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 1, 2009

"Exemplary scholar-adventurer writing."
The intricate, improbable story of how the first collection of Shakespeare's plays (1623) became the holiest—i.e., most expensive—of grails in Biblioland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2001

"A delightful opportunity to get in touch with your inner loser. (16-page b&w photo insert)"
Debut author Collins dissects the fickle fortunes of fame with 13 vignettes of men and women who dared to dream but failed to achieve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 16, 2002

"Were the Index of Forbidden Books still in force (it was retired in 1966), this would likely be on it. Useful, if unsettling, reading for Catholic reformists."
Is the pope infallible? Depending on your answer, this is either an instrument of needed clerical reform or an act of heresy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EDGAR ALLAN POE by Paul Collins
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"Although Collins doesn't provide much new information, the clean, crisp narrative presents the puzzling Poe as a deeply troubled and toweringly talented artist."
The author of investigative books about literary and historical figures returns with a lean, swift life of the puzzling Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849), whose life and death are as full of mystery as his famous tales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 12, 2013

"Who knew the 10th century could be so compelling?"
A lively, full-to-bursting history of the turbulent 10th century in Europe, when inner dissention and external marauding began to give way to cohesion and centrality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHANGHAIED by David Paul Collins
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 2011

"An entertaining, poignant coming-of-age memoir."
After being forced into service on a freight ship, a naïve teenager sails around the world, learning more about life than he bargained for. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A LOVING FAREWELL TO READ-A-ROMANCE MONTH 2017
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s August 31, which to me means, above all, the end of the 5th Read-A-Romance Month.

And I have to tell you, these posts on the theme of #ThePowerofRomance have been amazing.

People often ask me what my favorites were, and I find it a very difficult question—because they are all terrific representative essays on why romance is powerful, soul-affirming ...


Read the full post >