Search Results: "Paul Crilley"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 23, 2010

"A particularly resourceful heroine and some fuzzy lines between the sides set this apart (a little) from the crowd. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
Ordering freely from the standard menu of story elements, Crilley dishes up a Celtic-flavored fantasy featuring two (supposed) orphans in Victorian London who go up against any number of magical creatures with help from a good-hearted young thief, a smart-mouthed 2,423-year-old piskie and a secret society of humans led by Merlin and Christopher Wren. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAZARUS MACHINE by Paul Crilley
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 6, 2012

"Too complicated to engage. (Steampunk. 12 & up)"
A series opener, Crilley's steampunk adventure follows an unlikely duo to the underworld of Victorian London. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DRAWING LESSON by Mark Crilley
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 5, 2016

"An original and accessible way to learn to draw. (Graphic nonfiction. 10-14)"
This 144-page book delivers exactly what it promises: a graphic novel that teaches readers to draw. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AKIKO AND THE MISSING MISP by Mark Crilley
ADVENTURE
Released: Nov. 11, 2008

"Thanks to plenty of fill-in references to her previous adventures, new readers can easily delve into this installment, although most will likely seek out prior volumes to catch up on more of Akiko's intergalactic escapades. (art not seen) (Science fiction. 8-10)"
Now in sixth grade, spunky, pigtailed Akiko is back for her tenth Smoovian adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIKI FALLS: SPRING by Mark Crilley
FICTION
Released: May 1, 2007

"A stark departure from Crilley's previous Akiko series, Miki Falls is a ruminative look at a love and a richly developed labyrinth of fantasy and secrets. (Graphic novel. 12-16)"
A young girl's journey into love evolves with the seasons in the stellar first volume of a quartet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AKIKO ON THE PLANET SMOO by Mark Crilley
Released: Feb. 8, 2000

Opening episodes of a comic-book series created by an American teacher in Japan take a leap into chapter-book format, with only partial success. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECTLY PERCY by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"Just right for preschoolers, who will giggle at the gently humorous ending and see a bit of themselves in this utterly charming creature. (Picture book. 3-6)"
What is an adorable porcupine to do when his passion is for balloons? Is he destined for disappointment, or will some careful thinking lead to the perfect solution? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEDGEHOG'S MAGIC TRICKS by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2013

"A lovely lesson: If at first you don't succeed...then count on your friends to help get it right. (Picture book. 3-5)"
In story and artwork as delicate as milkweed floss, Paul tells the story of young Hedgehog's tribulations as a budding magician. Read full book review >