Search Results: "Paul Czajak"


BOOK REVIEW

MONSTER NEEDS HIS SLEEP by Paul Czajak
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2014

"Sure to be a welcome choice for the going-to-bed time that never seems to end. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Czajak and Grieb (Monster Needs a Costume, 2013) pair up once again for a hilarious take on the many creative ways a monster attempts to avoid bedtime. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONSTER NEEDS A CHRISTMAS TREE by Paul Czajak
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"Save this for kids who will love Monster's scary demeanor—there should be many. (Picture book. 4-8)
"
A little boy narrates the story of how he and the monster who lives at his house spend the day before Christmas together getting ready for the holiday. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONSTER NEEDS A COSTUME by Paul Czajak
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Given the jaunty flow of the story and the humorous details on every page, put this at the top of the list for unscary options come October. (Picture book. 3-6)"
What to wear for trick-or-treating? The perennial dilemma stumps Monster, who takes costume suggestions from a helpful boy, who narrates this rhyming tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEAVER THE WEAVER by Paul Czajak
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 17, 2015

"A salutary tribute to the benefits of thinking outside the orb. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A web designer of the eight-legged sort experiments with geometric shapes in the face of pressure from his many conformist sibs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONSTER NEEDS TO GO TO SCHOOL by Paul Czajak
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2016

"A rhyming bullying tale with some worthwhile lessons. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Monster and his little boy tackle Monster's first day of school. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE ME DIG by Paul  Meisel
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"New readers will dig this. (Early reader. 5-8)"
In this gem of an early reader, a cast of cavorting canines find more than they expected when they start digging—namely a scary bear, buried treasure, pirate ghosts and heavy construction equipment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MYSTIC HORSE by Paul Goble
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2003

"From an exceptional talent: a sure classic. (Picture book/folktale. 6-11)"
Goble (Storm Maker's Tipi, 2001, etc.) returns with another engaging Native American legend complemented by his glorious illustrations—a mix of authentic and contemporary design. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE ME RUN by Paul  Meisel
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Formatted in a larger trim than the usual early reader, this imaginary rumpus is just right for beginners to successfully read and reread. (Early reader. 5-7)"
A dog set free to run and roam in a dog park uncovers an archeological surprise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL THURLBY'S ALPHABET by Paul Thurlby
ABC BOOKS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Skillfully constructed and cleverly composed, it's an awesome alphabet book that adults will also appreciate. (author's note) (Picture book. 5-7)"
Is there any new way left to present the alphabet? The answer is Yes, as this graphic artist demonstrates when he applies his retro style to the ABCs. Read full book review >