Search Results: "Paul David Pope"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 11, 2010

"Readable and revealing, and the vividly re-created scenes cry out for film treatment."
Inside story of the controversial Italian-American family that gave us the Italian-language daily Il Progresso and the National Enquirer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FALL OF THE HOUSE OF WEST by Paul Pope
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"Forget the capes and tights: this is an entirely accessible and richly imagined superhero tour de force. (Graphic adventure. 13 & up)"
A teenage superheroine vows to destroy the monster that killed her mother but discovers vengeance doesn't come without dire consequences. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RISE OF AURORA WEST by Paul Pope
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Markedly different than its predecessor but a worthy tale nonetheless. (Graphic adventure. 12 & up)"
Before Battling Boy came to slay the monsters of Arcopolis, Aurora West sought out the monsters that terrorized her city and killed her mother. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 16, 2010

"An enjoyable chronicle of a rich life's work."
British journalist Pope (Sons of the Conquerors: The Rise of the Turkic World, 2005, etc.) shares deeply engaged dispatches from the Middle East hotspots he visited during his long career. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 5, 2008

"Wonderful American social history and lots of fun."
He truly had cojones: Dr. John Brinkley became fabulously wealthy in the 1920s and ‘30s by inserting goat testicles into herds of men anxious about their manliness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 13, 2009

"Shaffer's ingratiating hepcat charm saves what could have been just another celebrity's autobiographical ego trip."
Late Night with David Letterman veteran recalls his storybook rise from strip-club pianist to musical director of the "World's Most Dangerous Band." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOHEMIANS by Paul Buhle
NON-FICTION
Released: April 15, 2014

"A terrific appraisal of culture's gypsies, tramps and thieves, worthy of the editors' judgment: 'Obituaries for bohemia have, in short, always been premature.'"
What do Walt Whitman, Josephine Baker and Woody Guthrie have in common? Here, their lives are interwoven with the artistic and cultural movements of the 19th and 20th centuries, all under the umbrella of "bohemianism." Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 8, 2007

"Has 'make me a movie' written all over it."
Debut nonfiction account with all the ingredients for a rip-roaring guy's adventure yarn: deep-sea diving, big money, avarice, the allure of medieval Oriental history. Read full book review >