Search Results: "Paul Davidson"


BOOK REVIEW

BUGS UP CLOSE by Diane Swanson
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"Budding bug lovers will stridulate with delight. (glossary, index) (Nonfiction. 7-9)"
"Up Close" is right: Davidson's oversized, sharply focused color photos reveal every joint, palp, wing, eye facet and wrinkle on a succession of common insects, from a seemingly puppy-sized blowfly to an earwig blown up to the dimensions of a sausage. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOP DOG by Carli Davidson
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"A fresh look at some old expressions, using dogs of all ages to teach some new tricks. (Picture book. 4 & up)"
Twenty-one different dogs illustrate a variety of familiar idiomatic expressions about dogs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHAKE, WIGGLE & ROLL by Carli Davidson
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 16, 2017

"Will delight kids and caregivers alike. (Board book. 6 mos.-3)"
A kinetic catalog of canine activities. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

VOLTAIRE IN EXILE by Ian Davidson
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"A well-tempered work from whose pages Voltaire gracefully and realistically rises: wiser, more caring and generous, always eloquent as the years gain upon him. (8 pp. b&w illustrations, not seen)"
The French philosophe's ebullient, incredibly productive years in exile, admirably drawn by the London Financial Times' former foreign-affairs columnist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VISITOR'S CHOICE by Alexander Davidson
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 30, 2014

"An imaginative example of fantasy done right."
With just the turn of a page, a boy is transported to new worlds in this fantastic middle-grade novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOLTAIRE by Ian Davidson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 2010

"Unflinching and illuminating."
From the author of Voltaire in Exile: The Last Years, 1753-1778 (2004), a psychologically intimate biography of the great writer and philosopher. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW IS DAN DOING? by Margo Davidson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 28, 2014

"Candid and heartbreaking memoir that may appeal to those whose experiences mirror the author's."
A mother chronicles the struggles of having a child with antisocial personality disorder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAGNETIC CITY by Justin Davidson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 18, 2017

"A worthy companion to Alfred Kazin's A Walker in the City and the American Institute of Architects guides to the architecture of New York as well as a treat for fans of the metropolis."
A street-level celebration of New York City in all "its perpetual complexity and contradiction." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STARS ASKEW by Rjurik Davidson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 12, 2016

"Still too verbose but a decided improvement on its dazzling yet chilly predecessor."
Second installment of a fantasy series (Unwrapped Sky, 2014) about a slow-motion rebellion overtaking an ancient, decaying city in thrall to body- and brain-warping magic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EXPLOSIONIST by Jenny Davidson
FICTION
Released: July 1, 2008

"Readers willing to dive in will be eager for the sequel. (author's note) (Fantasy/alternate history. 13 & up)"
Adult novelist and scholarly author Davidson crafts a YA alternate-history/murder-mystery romp—and mostly pulls it off. Read full book review >