Search Results: "Paul Doiron"


BOOK REVIEW

THE PRECIPICE by Paul Doiron
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 16, 2015

"As scenically evocative as Bowditch's first four cases but not nearly as dense, conclusive, or interesting."
The disappearance of two Georgia women hiking the Appalachian Trail gives Maine Game Warden Mike Bowditch a welcome reprieve from the persistent personal problems that keep intruding into his cases, or serving as their foundations (The Bone Orchard, 2014, etc.).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRESPASSER by Paul Doiron
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 21, 2011

"If Mike's second appearance isn't quite up to his striking debut, it's still a complex, heartfelt, altogether impressive piece of work."
Seven years after a trial sent a police suspect up for murder, a disturbingly similar new killing reopens the case, dragging Maine game warden Mike Bowditch along for one hellacious ride. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BONE ORCHARD by Paul Doiron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 15, 2014

"The question of who shot Kathy Frost is less urgent than the question of how many more enemies Mike (Bad Little Falls, 2012, etc.) can make in the state of Maine before he burns a hole in the map and drops headlong through it."
Just because you're done with the past doesn't mean the past is done with you, as former Maine game warden Mike Bowditch discovers when his field training officer is shot virtually before his eyes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BAD LITTLE FALLS by Paul Doiron
Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"A high-stakes, high-tension yarn in which you keep wishing everything would turn out fine for the deeply flawed, deeply sympathetic hero even though you know it won't."
Now that he's antagonized every other lawman in the state of Maine (Trespasser, 2011, etc.), game warden Mike Bowditch gets exiled to Washington County, the Down East territory where nothing ever happens. Things happen. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE POACHER’S SON by Paul Doiron
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 2010

"C.J. Box goes East. Like Box, Doiron will have his hands full trying to top his accomplished debut."
A Maine Game Warden fights to clear his no-account father of murder charges in this deeply felt actioner. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A SURPRISE FOR GIRAFFE AND ELEPHANT by Paul Gude
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 17, 2015

"Readers can't help but feel lifted after spending time with these two companions. (Picture book. 3-5)"
The welcome return of odd-couple pals Elephant and Giraffe (When Elephant Met Giraffe, 2014).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO WORLD! by Paul Beavis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"A calmly surreal invitation to explore. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Mrs. Mo's Monster (2014), he of the snaggly teeth, spiky blue fur, and lolling pink tongue, is still in the attic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED PANDA'S CANDY APPLES by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2014

"The message appears to be the treats are best when shared, which makes Red Panda's attempt at entrepreneurship all the odder. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Who can resist candy apples? Not Red Panda. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN ELEPHANT MET GIRAFFE by Paul Gude
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 17, 2014

"A humorous picture book about two new, unlikely pals. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Loquacious Elephant meets her match in taciturn Giraffe in this debut picture book. Read full book review >