Search Results: "Paul Dubois Jacobs"


BOOK REVIEW

COUNT ON THE SUBWAY by Paul Dubois Jacobs
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 13, 2014

"A simple concept done with clean, commendable style. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Count up to 10 and back again with a mother and daughter as they ride the rumbling subway. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"This will be a marginal purchase for all but the largest of libraries. (includes CD) (Folktale. 4-8)"
Not as satisfying in word or illustration as the classic French Stone Soup by Marcia Brown or the Swedish Nail Soup by Margot and Harve Zemach, the lyrics included distinguish this retelling from others. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABIYOYO RETURNS by Pete Seeger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"The song, based on a Xhosa lullaby, still has that hard-to-resist sing-along potential, and the themes of waging peace, collective action, and the benefits of sound ecological practices are presented in ways that children will both appreciate and enjoy. (Picture book. 5-9)"
The seemingly ageless Seeger brings back his renowned giant for another go in a tuneful tale that, like the art, is a bit sketchy, but chockful of worthy messages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY SUBWAY RIDE by Paul Dubois Jacobs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"A happy ride around town. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A husband-and-wife team faithfully conveys the vitality of New York City and its subway system—100 years old this year—in this lyrical offering. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FURRY FIASCO by Paul DuBois Jacobs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2016

"The didactic plot is further hampered by exposition and too many characters to keep straight. (preview of next book) (Fiction/animal fantasy. 7-10)"
A misunderstanding at Animal Inn leads to anxiety. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEAF MUSICIANS by Pete Seeger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"An unusual story, both stylish and uplifting. (author note) (Picture book. 4-8)"
After losing his hearing, a piano man finds new musical life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRE DRILL by Paul Dubois Jacobs
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 22, 2010

"Every classroom should start the year off with this one. (Picture book. 4-6)"
"Simple done well" sums up this exploration of a near-universal childhood experience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLEEPERS, WAKE by Paul Samuel Jacobs
FICTION
Released: April 1, 1991

"Good idea, poor follow-through. (Fiction. 10+)"
As Dody and his family travel toward their new home on spaceship Wanderer, a computer glitch wakes the boy 50 years early. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1997

"In an afterword, Jacobs describes his contact with one of Printer's books, an encounter that only makes this novel more vital. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Jacobs (Sleepers, Wake, 1991) makes clear the tragedy of an artist inhibited by the circumstances of his birth in this unusual historical novel, set during a brutal English-Indian war in 17th-century Massachusetts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIE FRANÇAISE by Jean-Paul Dubois
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 5, 2007

"Part realistic novel, part high-class soap opera, and absorbingly readable from first page to last."
The story of a French Everyman is told in this appealing 2004 novel, the first in English translation from a veteran journalist and fiction writer. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >