Search Results: "Paul Fisher"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 10, 2008

"A golden bowl, brimming full."
Stunning multigenerational portrait of one of the most complex families in American intellectual history. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A TWISTED TALE by Carolyn Fisher
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2001

"Readers who find Causley's 'Quack,' Said the Billy Goat (1986), or Most's Cow That Went Oink (1990) a trifle sedate won't have that problem with this unrestrained solo debut. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Fisher punches up a well-worn plot with vivid language and swirling modernist art that incorporates an equally wild hand-lettered text. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEEN THERE, DONE THAT by Eddie Fisher
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 14, 1999

"Now that's talent."
The teen idol, singer, former husband of Elizabeth Taylor, Debbie Reynolds, and Connie Stevens, father of actresses Carrie and Joely Fisher, pens a tell-all memoir with the help of celebrity profiler David Fisher (no relation and co-author with George Burns of All My Best Friends, 1989, among others). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I CAN DO IT MYSELF by Valorie Fisher
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 8, 2014

"Ultimately, haphazard structure undermines a visually engaging presentation. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A series of colorful, photographed spreads provides visual instruction and documentation of various tasks and skills for child readers to master. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2006

"This, in combination with the lack of a plot, will limit the audience, especially when said audience usually lets out a collective groan at the mention of word problems. (Picture book/nonfiction. 5-9)"
A collection of unrelated illustrated word problems, this has potential among teachers and the parents of star or struggling math students. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY BIG SISTER by Valorie Fisher
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"The carefully worded comments, bolstered by Fisher's exceptional photography, convey a powerful message about the deeply rooted bonds that exist between an older sister and her younger sibling. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Fisher explores the feminine side of sibling relations in this companion title to My Big Brother (2002). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING I NEED TO KNOW BEFORE I'M FIVE by Valorie Fisher
ABC BOOKS
Released: July 26, 2011

"Cheerful, if not exactly essential, fun. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Fisher packs a lot—if not exactly everything, or perhaps not even some of the most important things—into this compendium of basic concepts for young children: letters, numbers up to 20, colors, shapes, opposites, seasons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC BOOKS
Released: June 1, 2003

"Impressive and innovative. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Astonishingly arranged assemblages of toys and miniatures described by alliterative nonsense phrases are depicted in brightly colored photographs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY BIG BROTHER by Valorie Fisher
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2002

"A follow-up for big sisters would be a fine idea. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Written from the point of view of a baby brother, and ostensibly intended for the younger sibling, this paean to older brothers will comfort first-borns who may have trouble adjusting to a new baby, showing them just how much they mean to their newest family members. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN RUBY TRIED TO GROW CANDY by Valorie Fisher
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 8, 2008

"Ruby may have a sweet tooth and a green thumb, but unfortunately the result is less appealing than either. (Picture book. 4-7)"
What kid wouldn't love the idea of growing candy? Read full book review >