Search Results: "Paul Goldberg"


BOOK REVIEW

THE CHÂTEAU by Paul Goldberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"Following up his acclaimed debut, The Yid (2016), Goldberg confirms his status as one of Jewish fiction's liveliest new voices, walking in the shoes of such deadpan provocateurs as Mordecai Richler and Stanley Elkin."
Adrift and broke after losing his job at the Washington Post, William Katzenelenbogen descends into Trump-ian madness while visiting his estranged father in South Florida. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUILDING ART by Paul Goldberger
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Richly researched, intelligent, and graceful, but some readers may wonder if Gehry has a dark side."
An admiring life of the celebrated architect who designed, among other notable structures, the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, Spain, and Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 14, 2004

"Insider play-by-play with politicians, potential profiteers, and top architects scrambling for the plum: an absorbing, if not inspiring, record."
The tortuous trail of conflicts and compromises that resulted in the project to erect the 1,776-foot Freedom Tower on the Ground Zero site. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE YID by Paul Goldberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 2, 2016

"For all its dark, discursive content, Goldberg's novel about unlikely rebels plotting Stalin's downfall is streaked with hard-earned wisdom."
In Goldberg's debut, set in 1953, a pair of offbeat Jewish characters and an American Negro come to terms with life, death, and theater as Stalin's final pogrom gains steam. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"A powerful contribution to the ongoing discussion on health-care reform."
With the assistance of investigative journalist Goldberg (The Final Act: The Dramatic, Revealing Story of the Moscow Helsinki Watch Group, 1988, etc.), Brawley (Medicine/Emory Univ.), chief medical scientific officer of the American Cancer Society, delivers a scathing indictment of the American medical system. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"That some of the artists are lesser known lends a more personal, immediate dimension to their art and words. (Nonfiction. 6-12)"
Fifteen artists provide vibrant and exuberantly colorful paintings that depict special places, neighborhoods and memories that have shaped their art and their lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAKE LIAR CHEAT by Tod Goldberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2000

"The killer climax mixes Steinbeck's 'Tell me about the rabbits, George' with Thelma and Louise's high-flying electricity. A perfect trade paperback with all the sleaze and glamour of the old paperbacks of 50 years ago."
Entertaining, movie-thin comedy not out to change your life, only to offer an amusing read, which it does with high success. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LONG QUIET HIGHWAY by Natalie Goldberg
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 15, 1993

Goldberg, author of two popular Zen-inspired writing guides (Wild Mind, 1990; Writing Down the Bones, 1986), tells in simple, dead-honest prose the story of her ``awakening'' to writing and to life. ``Americans,'' Goldberg says, ``see writing as a way to break through their own inertia and become awake, to connect with their deepest selves.'' This way works, she insists, but ``it is hard. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY GUN HAS BULLETS by Lee Goldberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 8, 1995

Rewarded with his own television cop show for ``forgetting'' that Esther Radcliffe—beloved, hateful star of TV's popular Miss Agatha series—is the woman who shot him when he pulled her over for speeding to a Neiman-Marcus sale, toothless former Sgt. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Kingdom of Speculation by Barbara Goldberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 15, 2015

"Poetry that excites and mystifies in all the best ways."
Goldberg pulls hard truths from simple tropes in this superb collection of verse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAISED BY WOLVES by Jim Goldberg
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

Photographer Goldberg (Rich and Poor, 1985, not reviewed) continues his experiment in photo-text montage with this disturbing and vivid depiction of teenage runaways. Read full book review >