Search Results: "Paul Greenberg"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 19, 2010

"Hugely informative, sincere and infectiously curious and enthusiastic."
An award-winning food journalist brilliantly dissects the relationship between humans and the four fish that dominate the seafood market. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMERICAN CATCH by Paul Greenberg
NON-FICTION
Released: June 30, 2014

"A fascinating discussion of a multifaceted issue and a passionate call to action."
Blue Ocean Institute fellow Greenberg (Four Fish: The Future of the Last Wild Food, 2010, etc.) offers an optimistic perspective on the connection between preserving our salt marshes and restoring America's offshore seafood production. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AZTEC EMPIRE  by Imogen Greenberg
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 15, 2017

"Ineffective and misleading. (Graphic nonfiction. 8-11)"
This comic-book-like synthesis of the Aztec empire surveys the history and culture of one of the major civilizations of pre-Hispanic Mexico. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2009

"Superior reporting."
Greenberg (Law and Security/New York Univ. School of Law; co-editor: The Enemy Combatant Papers, 2008, etc.) reconstructs the early history of the notorious detention camp, before it became a shameful symbol of America's War on Terror. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HURRY DOWN SUNSHINE by Michael Greenberg
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Bears enlightening and articulate witness to the sheer force of an oft-misunderstood disease."
Times Literary Supplement columnist Greenberg chronicles his 15-year-old daughter Sally's manic breakdown in vivid yet surprisingly detached prose. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POETRY
Released: April 1, 2001

"A beautiful volume that brings words and pictures together in wonderful tributes from artist to artist. (Nonfiction. All ages)"
This unusual poetry anthology is a compilation of 43 contemporary poets' responses to self-selected images, ranging from photographs to sculpture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NAT TURNER by Kenneth Greenberg
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 20, 2003

"An illuminating stew of antebellum Southern history, ethnic relations, and contemporary social literature."
The famed leader of a 19th-century slave uprising and his now largely forgotten followers come up for scholarly reappraisal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FATHER'S WIVES by Mike Greenberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 20, 2015

"Much dribbling punctuated by a few slam dunks."
Two weeks in the life of a man who caught his wife in flagrante delicto—or did he?Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 10, 2008

"Will surprise even those who think they know the game."
First-time author Greenberg chronicles the overlooked football career of one of the sport's genuine innovators. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO RECK'NING MADE by Joanne Greenberg
Released: Nov. 1, 1993

"The villains are heavy, heavy, but, still: an accessible tale offering plenty of ammo for the many presently grumbling about the state of our schools."
Greenberg is at her storytelling, hortatory best when involving her characters in isolating circumstances— ``abnormalities'' of birth (the plight of the blind and deaf in the moving Of Such Small Differences, 1988) or, as now, of poverty and also an ideological stance that goes against the tide. Read full book review >