Search Results: "Paul Griffin"


BOOK REVIEW

ADRIFT by Paul Griffin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 28, 2015

"This fast-paced survival adventure makes an excellent crucible for Griffin's examination of class. (Adventure. 12-16)"
Two buddies who have been through trauma together before find themselves with three relative strangers out on the open Atlantic, where survival becomes extremely uncertain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BURNING BLUE by Paul Griffin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 25, 2012

"A taut thriller explores the evolving relationship between two outsider teens, at first defined by their shared defectiveness but later superseding it. (Mystery. 12 & up)"
Griffin fleshes out a gripping whodunit with a host of believable teen characters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TEN MILE RIVER by Paul Griffin
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2008

"This smoothed-out and glamorized vision of life on the streets, chronicled in dated, sometimes forced slang tempered by purple prose ('puked a downpour of summer hail'), may appeal to suburban readers, but city-savvy teens will laugh at the fantasy. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Debut novelist Griffin tries to capture life on the streets of New York but fails to deliver actual grit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STAY WITH ME by Paul Griffin
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 8, 2011

"An outstanding love story peopled by a wealth of memorable characters. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Their relationship is doomed from the start. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ORANGE HOUSES by Paul Griffin
Released: June 1, 2009

"A deceivingly slim volume with a slow start that leads to a breathless finish. (Fiction. YA)"
Three unlikely friends struggle to survive poverty's vicious cycle in the Bronx. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAVING MARTY by Paul Griffin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"Smart, honest, and heart-achingly real. (Fiction. 10-14)"
A failing peach farm and a mountain of bills force 12-year-old Lorenzo Ventura's mother to consider selling his best friend, Marty—a pig who thinks he is a dog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN FRIENDSHIP FOLLOWED ME HOME by Paul Griffin
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"Entrancing, magical, tragic, and uplifting. (Fiction. 10-14)"
A former foster child deals with love and loss and love again. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

CHRISTMAS IN APRIL
by Bobbi Dumas

At the end of 2016, I requested a few Christmas titles from a few publishers, and while I was able to enjoy them over the season, it was a little late to write about them during the season.

So I decided to do something a little fun and informative with the authors. For the last two weeks in April, I’ll ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE UNFINISHED LIFE OF ADDISON STONE by Adele Griffin
Released: Aug. 12, 2014

"An interesting but ultimately unsatisfying experiment in form. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Why did an 18-year-old artist fall from an overpass in New York City in the middle of the night? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL YOU NEVER WANTED by Adele Griffin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 9, 2012

"A sumptuously written examination of sibling rivalry and socioeconomic class. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Two sisters painfully discover that money can't buy happiness in this provocative family drama. Read full book review >