Search Results: "Paul Haven"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SEVEN KEYS OF BALABAD by Paul Haven
ADVENTURE
Released: Jan. 27, 2009

"A cluster of likable stock characters and whip-wielding warriors keeps the endearing plot moving. (Adventure. 10-12)"
Intrepid heroes preserve the peace of a war-torn Muslim country in this adventuresome Boy's Own-type treasure hunt. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TWO HOT DOGS WITH EVERYTHING by Paul Haven
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 25, 2006

"Huge, magical and delightful. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Danny Gurkin is devoted to the game of baseball and most especially to the hapless Sluggers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 20, 2001

"Not the weightiest of tomes, but quite delightful and very amusing."
Fresh and funny memoirs of a childhood in America's heartland, written by one who was born there in 1965 and can still remember the way a child experienced it. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING RISING (LIGHT AND SWIFT) by Haven Kimmel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 6, 2004

"A bit too lugubrious for an elegy, a bit too lighthearted for a caper: still, a serviceable account of a young woman finding her own way in a twilit world of regret and loss."
Second-novelist Kimmel (The Solace of Leaving Early, 2002, etc.) describes a young pool hustler's coming of age in rural 1980s Indiana. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SOLACE OF LEAVING EARLY by Haven Kimmel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 18, 2002

Several quests for religious certainty and personal fulfillment intersect melodramatically in this overwrought debut novel from the Indiana author of the memoir A Girl Named Zippy (2001). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 9, 2006

"Fans will find this go-round less zippy (forgive the pun), but more honest."
In Kimmel's follow-up to her well-received memoir about growing up in a tiny Indiana town (A Girl Named Zippy, 2001), the "She" of the title is Kimmel's mother, whose mid-life decision to attend college in the early 1970s disrupted her family's equilibrium. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE USED WORLD by Haven Kimmel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 18, 2007

"Although Kimmel can write with real charm, the characters feel manufactured in this overly schematic plot."
Kimmel returns to the rural, small-town Indiana landscape of her memoirs (She Got Up Off the Couch, 2006, etc.) and her first novel (The Solace of Leaving Early, 2002), as well as to some favorite themes—beloved mothers; absent fathers; and what it means to be a Christian today. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

IODINE by Haven Kimmel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2008

"Overwritten, lugubrious and self-consciously oblique."
Kimmel (The Used World, 2007, etc.) tells the story of an unbalanced Indiana college girl who may have been abused in childhood. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ORPHAN'S TENT by Tom De Haven
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"Bing's few black-and-white illustrations add a sense of menace to the story, an incredible and entertaining adventure that never falters in its realistic portrayal of young people, with all their flaws and strengths in focus. (Fiction. 12+)"
De Haven (for adults, Derby Dugan's Depression Funnies, p. 549, etc.) makes a quirky gang of New Jersey rock and rollers the unlikely heroes of this hilarious adventure. Read full book review >