Search Results: "Paul Hess"


BOOK REVIEW

THE KING AND THE SEED by Eric Maddern
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2009

"Chuckle-worthy, and with a seed of wisdom at its core. (source note) (Picture book/folktale. 7-9)"
In this European version of Demi's The Empty Pot (1990), an aging, childless king tests would-be successors by handing each a seed and telling him to plant it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NAIL SOUP by Eric Maddern
by Eric Maddern, illustrated by Paul Hess
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2007

"While the tale is well-known, Hess's paintings, with their surrealistic settings, canted perspectives, mysteriously exotic traveler and softly transformed housewife, lend unexpected freshness. (Picture book/folklore. 4-8)"
A Scandinavian variant of the familiar Stone Soup retold by Welsh storyteller Maddern. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERMAID OF WARSAW by Richard Monte
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"So visit the Karkonosze Castle or the Wieliczka salt mine or the banished city of Wineta—you may be challenged, but you will not be disappointed. (Folktales. 8-12)"
A gratifying and unusual collection of folktales from Poland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT CASTLE OF MARSHMANGLE by Malachy Doyle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2004

"Hess's illustrations are bright and colorful, with interesting perspectives and just enough whimsy to bring smiles. (Folktales. 5-10)"
Doyle offers his own version of the classic English tale, "Master of All Masters," changing the signature tongue-tanglers to words of his own choosing and losing something along the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUNGRY! HUNGRY! HUNGRY! by Malachy Doyle
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2001

"A Dark, Dark Room' it's not, but read aloud with the proper gusto it should elicit a few belly laughs, as well as a mild climactic jolt, and the art is unusually fascinating. (Picture book. 5-7)"
In this moderately effective "jump" story, a lad anxiously questions a distracted-looking, green-skinned goblin as he watches it ransack his house: " 'Why have you got such a big fat bum?' 'Squishing things and squashing things . . .' 'Why have you got such a grumbly tum?' 'Hungry! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH IN A NUT by Eric Maddern
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Like Yugi Morales's Just a Minute (2003), this may help to make the Reaper a little less Grim for younger readers. (Picture book/folktale. 7-9)"
Maddern smoothly retells a tale learned from Scots storyteller Duncan Williamson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COW ON THE ROOF by Eric Maddern
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2006

"Andrew Glass (1998). (Picture book/folktale. 6-8)"
A competent retelling of the old tale of a farmer and his wife who switch roles for a day, with disastrous results for the farmer. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT ON A LIMB by Joan Hess
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 11, 2002

"A lot more antic than Claire's usual fare, though fans looking for a more successful mixture of mystery and farce should wait for Hess's next dispatch from Maggody, Arkansas, miles and worlds away from Claire's Fayetteville."
Bookseller Claire Malloy (A Conventional Corpse, 2000, etc.) knows when her daughter has a real problem and when she's just acting like a teenager. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRIDE V. PREJUDICE by Joan Hess
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 7, 2015

"Even a dreamboat husband and a dream house don't seem to satisfy Claire, whose sulky sense of amour-propre makes her teenage daughter, Caron, seem mature."
Bookseller Claire Malloy (Murder as a Second Language, 2013, etc.) gets pissed off at a local prosecutor. Read full book review >