Search Results: "Paul Hoffman"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 2007

A journey into the psyche of champion chess players, accompanied by a personal quest for understanding of a talented but difficult parent. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LEFT HAND OF GOD by Paul Hoffman
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2010

"Judging by the hype, what the publisher hoped for was Lord of Harry Potter's Dark Materials; what it actually secured is, in its own immodest way, engrossing enough."
The first of a medieval-fantasy trilogy from the author of The Golden Age of Censorship (2008, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST FOUR THINGS by Paul Hoffman
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Aug. 4, 2011

"Less a novel than a fictionalized dissertation on angst."
Second installment of Hoffman's bleak, ultra-violent pseudo-medieval trilogy, following The Left Hand of God (2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 15, 1998

"Though a biography, this book works like the best fiction, finding in a concrete universal to show what mathematics is and who the people are who uncover its truths. (8 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
An affectionate if impressionistic portrayal of one of the century's greatest and strangest mathematicians. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 11, 2003

"Hoffman makes a solid case for restoring this fine fellow to the history of flight, and aviation buffs will find his spirited study a true pleasure."
Inventor, humanitarian, lunatic: a pioneer of aviation receives his due in this well-rendered life. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHTBIRD by Alice Hoffman
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 10, 2015

"Enchanting. (Magical realism. 9-12)"
There's a monster in Sidwell, Massachusetts, that can only be seen at night or, as Twig reveals, if passersby are near her house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TROUBADOUR by Mary Hoffman
FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2009

"Serviceable, but it could have been so much more. (Historical fiction. YA)"
Intertwining narratives of the 13th century add up to less than the sum of their parts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVO, GRACE! by Mary Hoffman
ADVENTURE
Released: April 1, 2005

"A nice addition to the easily read British series. (Fiction. 8-10)"
The spirited Grace is back with her gang and quite a few changes, in her fourth outing, tackling a host of issues including divorce, moving, her mother's wedding, a new baby, a friend's eating disorder, jealousy and bullying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INCANTATION by Alice Hoffman
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

Echoes of the Holocaust reverberate through this 16th-century tale of a young Spanish woman who discovers through love, betrayal and tragedy that her family is secretly Jewish. Read full book review >