Search Results: "Paul Hoffman"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 15, 1998

"Though a biography, this book works like the best fiction, finding in a concrete universal to show what mathematics is and who the people are who uncover its truths. (8 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
An affectionate if impressionistic portrayal of one of the century's greatest and strangest mathematicians. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST FOUR THINGS by Paul Hoffman
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Aug. 4, 2011

"Less a novel than a fictionalized dissertation on angst."
Second installment of Hoffman's bleak, ultra-violent pseudo-medieval trilogy, following The Left Hand of God (2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LEFT HAND OF GOD by Paul Hoffman
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2010

"Judging by the hype, what the publisher hoped for was Lord of Harry Potter's Dark Materials; what it actually secured is, in its own immodest way, engrossing enough."
The first of a medieval-fantasy trilogy from the author of The Golden Age of Censorship (2008, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 11, 2003

"Hoffman makes a solid case for restoring this fine fellow to the history of flight, and aviation buffs will find his spirited study a true pleasure."
Inventor, humanitarian, lunatic: a pioneer of aviation receives his due in this well-rendered life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 2007

A journey into the psyche of champion chess players, accompanied by a personal quest for understanding of a talented but difficult parent. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

STRAVAGANZA by Mary Hoffman
FANTASY
Released: May 1, 2005

"Bonus: Fans should flock to the history section to investigate the fascinating setting. (Fantasy. 11+)"
A crackerjack conclusion to a superior historical fantasy trilogy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRAVAGANZA by Mary Hoffman
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"The tidy resolution seems to leave little room for sequels; still, some intriguing minor characters and glimpses of other cities hint at a richer world than so far revealed. (Fantasy. 11+)"
Political intrigue unfolds against the glittering backdrop of an alternative Venice, in the first of a promised trilogy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILD THORN by William Hoffman
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2002

"A bit heavy on the backwoods caricatures, but a good read all the same: fast, and as fresh and unvarnished as a newly whittled stick."
Hoffman's latest excursion into the backwoods of Appalachia (Blood and Guile, 2000, etc.) continues the adventures of Charley LeBlanc, black sheep of a First Family of Virginia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIES by William Hoffman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"Hoffman conveys the stink of poverty and the shame it can cause, but not much else."
Scenes from a dirt-poor childhood in Depression-era Virginia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BE SAFE I LOVE YOU by Cara Hoffman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2014

"Hoffman weaves an intricate plot, but a tendency to overwrite shadows her story, leaving the reader to make a complicated literary journey that, for some, may not be worth the effort."
Hoffman's (So Much Pretty, 2011) latest novel centers on a female soldier who comes home to a reality in which she feels alienated and out of sync. Read full book review >