Search Results: "Paul Hoppe"


BOOK REVIEW

THE CURSE OF VAN GOGH by Paul Hoppe
MYSTERY THRILLER

"An inviting, if uneven, story of a modern-day gentleman thief."
Debut author Hoppe offers a crime thriller about the difficulty of stealing famous art. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WOODS by Paul Hoppe
by Paul Hoppe, illustrated by Paul Hoppe
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2011

"Hoppe's delightfully quirky monsters enhance this pleasant tonic for bedtime fears. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The night light is on and the bedtime story firmly in the young narrator's grasp, but stuffed bunny is nowhere to be found! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN I SEE YOUR I.D.? by Chris Barton
NONFICTION
Released: April 14, 2011

"Teens in the thick of creating identities themselves will find this riveting. (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
In 10 vignettes, Barton profiles successful imposters, both men and women. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

METAL MAN by Aaron Reynolds
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2008

"Though the story is labored throughout, the succinct and meaningful ending finds Devon realizing that perhaps, underneath all the 'crud,' something shiny and ferocious lies. (Picture book. 6-8)"
It's a hot and sticky city summer day, and Devon knows that metal man Mitch is hard at work. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: April 1, 2006

"Think Mission: Impossible meets Gordon Korman's Son of the Mob (2002), with interwoven family issues providing just the right amount of ballast. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Hatching an ill-considered scheme to escape financial woes by striking it rich in Las Vegas, preteen best buds—one an extreme jock, the other an equally extreme geek—discover, in this breezy debut, that Vegas is nothing like Walla Walla. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAT by Paul Hoppe
by Paul Hoppe, illustrated by Paul Hoppe
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2009

"A funny, appealing choice for beginning readers, especially boys. (Early reader. 4-6)"
When he spies a wide-brimmed red hat on a park bench, Henry wants to keep it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAST-BUT-NOT-LEAST LOLA AND THE WILD CHICKEN by Christine Pakkala
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"While it's nice to have a Jewish chapter-book protagonist, so far Lola is mostly Clementine-lite. (Fiction. 7-11)"
Lola is back in another tale of school and rocky friendship (Last-But-Not-Least Lola Going Green, 2013). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEANUT by Ayun Halliday
by Ayun Halliday, illustrated by Paul Hoppe
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 22, 2013

"If readers can suspend some disbelief and simply roll with what's offered, perhaps this will work for them. (Graphic fiction. 12 & up)"
A faked allergy spins wildly out of control in this prosaic graphic novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAST-BUT-NOT-LEAST LOLA GOING GREEN by Christine Pakkala
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Alas, Lola feels more like a Clementine or Ramona wannabe than a real original. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Second-grader Lola Zuckerman suffers from the indignity of having a last name at the end of the alphabet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAST-BUT-NOT-LEAST LOLA AND A KNOT THE SIZE OF TEXAS by Christine Pakkala
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Cheeky Lola is a well-balanced combination of exuberance and naïve vulnerability that charms and entertains. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Hilarious Lola has a lot of problems, but the very biggest one—growing all the time—is the immense knot of snarled hair at the back of her head. What is a girl to do? Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >