Search Results: "Paul Johnston"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SILVER STAIN by Paul Johnston
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 2012

"More earnest action/adventure than mystery despite criminal misadventures in which absolutely everyone ends up implicated, and a stirring demonstration of how 'Crete really did get to people, even within hours of their arrival.'"
Johnston, best known stateside for his violent tales of futuristic Edinburgh (Water of Death, 2001, etc.), hauls Athens investigator Alex Mavros out of mothballs and packs him off to a fraught movie project in a Cretan village where a lot more than film is being shot. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEATH LIST by Paul Johnston
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 2007

"The morbidly inventive death scenes are likely to test readers' stomachs, the arbitrary violence-at-will their patience."
A blocked mystery writer whose recent career seems to echo that of his creator (Water of Death, 2001, etc.) gets energized in the worst possible way: by a battle of wits with a vengeful, verse-quoting killer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WATER OF DEATH by Paul Johnston
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 1, 2001

"As combustible as Quint's first two cases, though the series' swiftly rising page count suggests that dystopian Edinburgh isn't the only place that may be spinning out of control."
All's still for the best in that best of all possible worlds, day-after-tomorrow Edinburgh. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREEN LADY by Paul Johnston
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"'Ancient artifacts and modern underage girls,' sniffs Alex's old friend Yiorgos Pandazopoulous, aka the Fat Man. If that combination sets your heart racing, Alex is your man."
Greek-Scot missing persons specialist Alex Mavros, whose fourth case (The Silver Stain, 2012) raced from one felony to the next with reckless abandon, goes even further in his fifth, reaching all the way back to the rituals of Demeter to root his latest discoveries in Greece's sordid almost-present. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BONE YARD by Paul Johnston
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 2000

"Despite his relentlessly strained similes and the overgalvanized plot he recounts, Quint never goes over the top: he was born over the top."
Talk about the return of the repressed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK LIFE by Paul Johnston
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2013

"Just as high a body count as Alex's last two cases, though the Holocaust back story sharpens this one to a knife point."
Scots/Greek private eye Alex Mavros' sixth case sets him on the trail of an old man who's recently been spotted in Thessaloniki even though he died in Auschwitz. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BODY POLITIC by Paul Johnston
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Aug. 2, 1999

"Forget the rickety, overstuffed plot and you'll see why Johnston's bone-chilling dystopia took Britain's John Creasey Award for the year's best crime debut."
Edinburgh, 2020. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SKELETON BLUES by Paul Johnston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2016

"The plot, which is even more labyrinthine than usual, will challenge the ingenuity, not to say the memory, of the staunchest readers. But Johnston's nightmarish Edinburgh is so densely imagined that it'll linger in the memory long after the plot is forgotten."
Beneath the skin of Johnston's seventh dystopian whodunit is the threat of a revolution so virulent it could bring the whole series to an end. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

YOU ARE NOT ALONE
by Leila Roy

I didn’t used to overthink my choices quite so much. Then someone made what I’ve always been told is a very important choice for me, and now I tend to overthink everything else.

Exit, Pursued by a Bear, by E. K. Johnston

It’s the beginning of Hermione Winters’ senior year in high school, and she and her best friend ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THAT INEVITABLE VICTORIAN THING by E.K. Johnston
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"A thoughtful exploration of class consciousness, genetics, and politics that doesn't lose track of the human story. (author's note) (Science fiction. 14-adult)"
Three young adults negotiate sexuality in a science-fiction Ontario where the British Empire took a decidedly different path. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUMAN AMUSEMENTS by Wayne Johnston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 13, 2004

"A bit overlong, but, still, another beguiling display of the varied wares of one of the most entertaining and likable of contemporary writers."
A comic coming-of-age story with a pronounced sting in its tail: the Canadian author's fourth novel, first published in 1994 immediately preceding his international success,The Colony of Unrequited Dreams. Read full book review >