Search Results: "Paul Kidby"


BOOK REVIEW

DIARY OF A MAD BROWNIE by Bruce Coville
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 30, 2015

"A knee-slapper in this or any edition. (Fantasy. 9-11)"
A dedicated slob and a neatnik brownie, both with fierce tempers, face off in this much-expanded version of Coville's short story "Clean as a Whistle," published in Oddly Enough (1994).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HATCHED by Bruce Coville
by Bruce Coville, illustrated by Paul Kidby
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 18, 2016

"Middle-grade readers will be carried along by the buoyancy of the writing, the skillful design, and the humor on almost every page. Egg-ceptionally funny! (Fantasy. 8-11)"
The same team who introduced the Enchanted Realm in Diary of a Mad Brownie (2015; now retitled Cursed) presents a second go-round for the delectation of middle-grade fantasy readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TROLLED by Bruce Coville
by Bruce Coville, illustrated by Paul Kidby
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"Holy heckenlooper, as Cody is wont to put it—families can have strange secrets. (Fantasy. 9-11)"
A biography-writing assignment takes a sixth-grader from the eerie depths of New York's Grand Central Terminal all the way to Troll Mountain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST HERO by Terry Pratchett
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 1, 2001

"Moderately funny, aimed primarily at Discworld addicts and holiday-season gift-givers."
A new, albeit rather short, Discworld yarn (Thief of Time, 2001, etc.), profusely illustrated by popular Discworld artist Kidby in an oversized format. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE ME DIG by Paul  Meisel
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"New readers will dig this. (Early reader. 5-8)"
In this gem of an early reader, a cast of cavorting canines find more than they expected when they start digging—namely a scary bear, buried treasure, pirate ghosts and heavy construction equipment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MYSTIC HORSE by Paul Goble
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2003

"From an exceptional talent: a sure classic. (Picture book/folktale. 6-11)"
Goble (Storm Maker's Tipi, 2001, etc.) returns with another engaging Native American legend complemented by his glorious illustrations—a mix of authentic and contemporary design. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE ME RUN by Paul  Meisel
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Formatted in a larger trim than the usual early reader, this imaginary rumpus is just right for beginners to successfully read and reread. (Early reader. 5-7)"
A dog set free to run and roam in a dog park uncovers an archeological surprise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL THURLBY'S ALPHABET by Paul Thurlby
ABC BOOKS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Skillfully constructed and cleverly composed, it's an awesome alphabet book that adults will also appreciate. (author's note) (Picture book. 5-7)"
Is there any new way left to present the alphabet? The answer is Yes, as this graphic artist demonstrates when he applies his retro style to the ABCs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUGS FROM PEARL by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Keep quills crossed for a future porcupine tale. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this welcome departure from the seemingly ubiquitous theme that finds porcupines looking for love, gentle-hearted Pearl experiments with ways to make her hugs more comfortable for others. Read full book review >