Search Results: "Paul L. Centeno"


BOOK REVIEW

DARK SANITY by Paul L. Centeno
Released: June 18, 2014

"A savory treat for sci-fi/fantasy readers."
From the author of The Vagrant Chronicle (2012) comes a post-apocalyptic Western in which a tortured hero struggles to separate illusion from reality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED NOVA by Paul L. Centeno
Released: March 14, 2012

"A familiar but exciting sci-fi epic for readers of all ages."
Centeno's debut sci-fi novel follows a group of human soldiers on an intergalactic adventure in the 27th century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Blood Immortal by Paul L. Centeno
Released: May 28, 2015

"Serviceable, undistinguished fantasy fare."
In Centeno's (Dark Sanity, 2014, etc.) latest novel, a "humyn" prince hopes a marriage of necessity to a high elf will end a terrible war. Demons plan otherwise.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VAGRANT CHRONICLE by Paul L. Centeno
Released: Oct. 4, 2012

"A dark but epic tale of heroism in a very brave, very new world."
An unlikely hero tries to save the children—and the world—in this complex but satisfying fantasy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Screenwriting In a Nutshell by Paul L. Friedman
Released: May 15, 2012

"A valuable guide presented in an entertaining, practical format and filled with the humor and insight of an industry veteran."
An entertaining, practical how-to guide on the art of writing screenplays for television and movies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 24, 1999

"Thoughtful and sophisticated reading for anyone with more than a casual interest in race."
Some remedies for a racial stalemate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLACES THE DEAD CALL HOME by Paul L. Hall
Released: Dec. 19, 2006

"Clever and funny enough, and quirkily structured, to pull off the tale."
Four unlikely travel companions head to Mesa Verde National Park in New Mexico, unaware that a hired Native-American killer is tracking them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 15, 2017

"Unquestionably uneven, but if only 10 percent of the author's claims are true, his report is still quite damning."
A scathing examination of the Roman Catholic Church. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AQUARIUM TAKE-ALONG BOOK by Sheldon L. Gerstenfeld
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1994

"Index. (Nonfiction. 7-10)"
A book of odd facts on anatomy and behavior in captivity plus some vital statistics (size, weight, longevity). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EAR TO THE GROUND by Paul Kolsby
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 12, 2016

"A fast, high-spirited sendup."
Hollywood cashes in on the prediction of a catastrophic earthquake in this comic novel by LA insiders Ulin (Sidewalking, 2015, etc.) and Kolsby (a film and TV writer).Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >