Search Results: "Paul Langan"


BOOK REVIEW

SURVIVOR by Paul Langan
Released: Jan. 1, 2013

"A well-paced, realistic YA story that looks at a difficult topic."
A brave young-adult novel about a devastating family secret. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROMISES TO KEEP by Paul Langan
Released: Jan. 1, 2013

"A sharp, shockingly believable look at the inner-city life of a student."
Langan (Survivor, 2013, etc.), the editor of the YA Bluford High series and author of several in the series, offers a cleareyed look at the challenges faced by an inner-city high school student and his family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BROTHERS IN ARMS by Paul Langan
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"A YA novel that treats its subject and its readers with respect while delivering an engaging story."
In the ninth book in the Bluford young-adult series, a young Latino man walks away from violence—but at great personal cost. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DARK HORSE by Mike Langan
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 20, 2008

"The efficient storytelling and snappy dialogue shine before the obligatory plot twists set in. And just when the tale seems snarled in complexities, first-timer Langan succeeds in pulling a lovely rabbit from his hat."
A Syracuse attorney who's made a specialty of skating on thin ice feels the surface tremble beneath him when his partner is murdered. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECTLY PERCY by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"Just right for preschoolers, who will giggle at the gently humorous ending and see a bit of themselves in this utterly charming creature. (Picture book. 3-6)"
What is an adorable porcupine to do when his passion is for balloons? Is he destined for disappointment, or will some careful thinking lead to the perfect solution? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEDGEHOG'S MAGIC TRICKS by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2013

"A lovely lesson: If at first you don't succeed...then count on your friends to help get it right. (Picture book. 3-5)"
In story and artwork as delicate as milkweed floss, Paul tells the story of young Hedgehog's tribulations as a budding magician. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETUNIA GOES WILD by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"Simple illustrations convey a simple truth: children love to run wild! (Picture book. 3-7)"
Petunia decides she's more animal than girl (RARH!). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY IN PERIL! by Paul Collicutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"Multiples are not a bad idea. (Graphic fiction. 8-11)"
Curtis is a walking, talking lighthouse-headed robot who protects the coast of Robot City with his trusty human crew, Ali and Steve. Read full book review >