Search Results: "Paul Many"


BOOK REVIEW

WALK AWAY HOME by Paul Many
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"452, etc.) strengths in characterization (albeit clichéd at times), strong appeal to male YAs, and humor in the face of life's most trying time—growing up. (Fiction. YA)"
Rising high-school senior Nick Doran walks to the beat of his own drummer—literally—and away from life's problems—in this case, military school orientation, a consequence of accidentally starting a chimney fire. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY LIFE, TAKE TWO by Paul Many
Released: May 1, 2000

"Though the wrap-up is a little too neat, Many writes this story with a deft pen, evoking a place where past meets present and longing has a voice. (Fiction. 12+)"
Many (These Are the Rules, 1997) takes a fresh approach to exploring the complexities and pressures that a young adult faces at the crossroads of maturity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THESE ARE THE RULES by Paul Many
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 1997

"As he stumbles through summer, Colm changes from being his own worst enemy to assembling some focus and self-esteem; despite some contrived and unnecessary drama near the end, this is a realistic and absorbing novel. (Fiction. 12+)"
Colm, whose parents have recently separated, is forced to spend the summer with his mother and much younger siblings at their lakeside summer cottage. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAD’S BALD HEAD by Paul Many
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2007

"The marked lack of high drama might make this useful as a help in coping with similar domestic flurries in households with Gen-X parents. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Young Pete has to cope with a small but unsettling change in this low-key family story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT PANCAKE ESCAPE by Paul Many
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"A rhythmic, rip-roaring romp. (Picture book. 5-8)"
"Our dad is a magician, / who can make a bird go poof, / but the day he cooked us pancakes, / he made an awful goof." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOME IS EAST by Many Ly
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 9, 2005

"There are fine moments here, however, and those readers who stay the course will be happy to find Amy and her dad finally happy themselves. (Fiction. 11-14)"
A young Cambodian-American girl describes the shattering and rebuilding of her family in this overlong yet affecting tale. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ROOTS AND WINGS by Many Ly
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 13, 2008

"Replete with details depicting religious and social beliefs, Grace's quest for answers makes for an intriguing contemplation on life within Cambodian-American immigrant community, as well as a satisfying coming-of-age story. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Fourteen-year-old Grace's beloved grandmother Naree has died, and Grace and her mother are going to St. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE ME DIG by Paul  Meisel
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"New readers will dig this. (Early reader. 5-8)"
In this gem of an early reader, a cast of cavorting canines find more than they expected when they start digging—namely a scary bear, buried treasure, pirate ghosts and heavy construction equipment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MYSTIC HORSE by Paul Goble
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2003

"From an exceptional talent: a sure classic. (Picture book/folktale. 6-11)"
Goble (Storm Maker's Tipi, 2001, etc.) returns with another engaging Native American legend complemented by his glorious illustrations—a mix of authentic and contemporary design. Read full book review >