Search Results: "Paul McCarthy"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GOURMET CLUB by Jun’ichiro Tanizaki
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 14, 2001

"Not all of this collection matches that high level, but there's more than enough here to enhance Tanizaki's still-substantial reputation."
Six previously untranslated, wickedly warped stories, all but one originally published before 1927, from the acclaimed Japanese master of bizarre and erotic fiction (Quicksand, 1994, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEABISCUIT THE WONDER HORSE by Meghan McCarthy
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 28, 2008

"A winning introduction to the sport of kings for the read-aloud set. (Informational picture book. 4-7)"
In the late 1930s, when times were tough and people went to the races to escape, they fell in love with a small, funny-looking, underdog horse gentled and trained so well he beat the elegant War Admiral with an unfamiliar jockey in the saddle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WILDEST RACE EVER by Meghan McCarthy
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2016

"Solid research underpins whimsy in McCarthy's latest historical foray. (historical note, photographs, selected bibliography) (Informational picture book. 5-8)"
In time for the 2016 Summer Olympics, McCarthy spotlights the men's marathon at the first Olympic Games hosted by the United States, held at the 1904 St. Louis World's Fair. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY HAWK by Meghan McCarthy
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 11, 2007

"Although this story appears in the lengthy author's note (along with a 'Learn More About Central Park' featurette and a jam-packed bibliography), its curious absence from the body of the text leaves readers with little to care about. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-8)"
The year's second book to shine the spotlight on New York City's most famous red-tailed hawk provides fun images but misses the narrative mark. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INCREDIBLE LIFE OF BALTO by Meghan McCarthy
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 9, 2011

"An intelligent read-aloud for those not quite ready to tackle the existing independent readers. (maps, author's note) (Picture book/biography. 5-8)"
Every dog has his day, but Balto's life is comparable to an early 20th-century movie star's. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2006

"It's a lighthearted but well-researched glimpse into one of our country's quirkier collective moments, and readers will (justly) come away wondering whether it could happen again. (bibliography) (Picture book/nonfiction. 9-11)"
Sandwiched between a look at Depression-era radios and a set of fanciful period advertisements, McCarthy delivers a semi-serious account of the 1938 "War of the Worlds" broadcast, illustrating both passages from the script and briefly told descriptions of widespread panic with smudgy cartoon scenes featuring bug-eyed monsters and equally bug-eyed people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ADVENTURES OF PATTY AND THE BIG RED BUS by Meghan McCarthy
ADVENTURE
Released: March 8, 2005

"In the final scene, the sisters' blocky conveyance turns out to be up on cinderblocks—but that makes its travels no less exciting, nor less hilarious the disconnect between the pictures and big sister's slanted version of events. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Two siblings travel from a high mountaintop to the sea's deeps, from a circus to deep space, in this tongue-in-cheek tribute to little sisters, and to red VW minibuses, everywhere. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

REPTILE by Colin McCarthy
ANIMALS
Released: April 10, 1991

"Index. (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
A predictable entry in the ``Eyewitness'' series, full of eye-popping color photos, whimsical historical drawings, and brief snatches of text telling about evolution, anatomy (inside and out), life cycle, and the variety of reptiles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 6, 2004

"A boon for fans, and likely to gather yet more admirers of McCarthy's travels."
Broad humor follows the author on his travels to unearth a selection of far-flung kinsmen. Read full book review >