Search Results: "Paul McCusker"


BOOK REVIEW

RIPPLE EFFECT by Paul McCusker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Still, readers may overlook clumsy prose and overt Christian messages to find some good fun here. (Christian science fiction. 10-14)"
In the first installment of the Time Thriller trilogy, previously published as Sudden Switch (1996), 15-year-old Elizabeth Forde, angry at her parents, decides to run away—but instead she disappears while taking a bath. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT OF TIME by Paul McCusker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2009

"An enjoyable time travel romp with overt Christian content. (Christian fantasy. 10-14)"
In the second installment of the Time Thriller trilogy, Jeff and Elizabeth are on their way to a high-school end-of-the-year party when a mysterious mist envelops their car and King Arthur comes riding out of it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2009

Adventures in time continue in this third and final installment of the Time Thriller Trilogy. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVER AND HIS EGG by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2014

"Still, this young boy's imagination is a powerful force for helping him deal with life, something that should be true for all children but sadly isn't. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Oliver, of first-day-of-school alligator fame, is back, imagining adventures and still struggling to find balance between introversion and extroversion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVER AND HIS ALLIGATOR by Paul Schmid
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 25, 2013

"On the first day, both the light and the dark sides of kindergartners will go to school, their kissing hands clutching a stuffed alligator, self-confidence soaring. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Going into the darkness beyond Petunia Goes Wild! (2012), Schmid enters the tongue-in-cheek metaphorical alligator/crocodile waters of Candace Fleming (Who Invited You?, illustrated by George Booth, 2001) and Joe Kulka (My Crocodile Does Not Bite, 2013). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WOODS by Paul Hoppe
by Paul Hoppe, illustrated by Paul Hoppe
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2011

"Hoppe's delightfully quirky monsters enhance this pleasant tonic for bedtime fears. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The night light is on and the bedtime story firmly in the young narrator's grasp, but stuffed bunny is nowhere to be found! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUNDAY LOVE by Alison Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2010

"This is a forgettable young cousin of David Macaulay's brilliant postmodern Black and White, without that classic's depth and artistry. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Tipping her hat to the old riddle theme "black and white and red all over," Paul supplies an action-packed story that founders in visual chaos. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL DREAMING by Paul Morin
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"Morin's bold paintings reflect Aboriginal rock art, the images of the traditional Dreamtime, and vividly realistic portraits of the boy and his elder. (glossary) (Picture book. 6-10)"
Within this beautifully illustrated book is the story of the Dreamtime of the Australian Aboriginal people—how the animals of long ago created a world in which they all lived in peace and harmony. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS ROCKET by Paul Collicutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 7, 2005

"Yet, as always, it's Collicutt's artwork that speaks volumes: It is, appropriately, utterly transporting, with Collicutt providing both wonderfully specific drawings of rockets and backdrops in which readers can fully immerse themselves. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Collicutt is well known for his bold and energetic picture books on transportation vehicles. Read full book review >