Search Results: "Paul Murray"


BOOK REVIEW

THE MARK AND THE VOID by Paul Murray
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 20, 2015

"Murray manages the trick of being thoughtful and entertaining. His creative energy sends the book in many directions, making it a little loose and lumpy, but the same may be said of Dickens, with whom real Paul also shares wit, sympathy, and a purposeful sense of mischief."
A darkly comic, lightly metafictional tale about a banker seeking love and a novelist seeking wealth amid the fallout from the financial boom and bust in Ireland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AN EVENING OF LONG GOODBYES by Paul Murray
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 10, 2004

"Riotously funny from the start, the sharp edge of the author's satire turns this tale into something very different from comedy by the end and reveals Murray as a master of narrative sleight of hand."
A deft, funny, and ultimately quite moving debut about the strenuous and determined efforts of a young Irish aristocrat to evade all contact with the real world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SKIPPY DIES by Paul Murray
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 7, 2010

"Long and impossibly involved, but also beautifully written, with much truth and not a wasted word. A superb imagining of a strange world—that of pimply-faced kids, that is. Alternate universes, too."
If Harry Potter lived in an alternate Ireland, had no real magical powers but talked a good game, and fell all over himself every time he saw a girl, he might well belong in this splendid, sardonic magnum opus. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE MOUSE by Alison Murray
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 18, 2013

"Youngsters will clamor for more as they climb into a lap and ask to also be called their mommy's little mouse. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Murray captures a young girl's changing moods—from feeling big and bold to little and cuddly—in this playful, empathetic story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAIRY FELICITY'S MOONLIGHT ADVENTURE by Alison Murray
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"Sparkly mollusk fluid aside, expect a book that hits its own sweet spot fairy-ly well. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Surprise birthday party? Check. Fairies? Check. Inoffensive follow-the-line conceit? Check and check! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUSE THAT ZACK BUILT by Alison Murray
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 9, 2016

"Perfect for giggling and sharing and right on target for lap-time reading. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A new version of a beloved classic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I CAN RUN  by Murray Head
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 15, 2017

"A book new readers will want to take a peek at. (Early reader. 5-7)"
A day in the life of a squirrel for new readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HICKORY DICKORY DOG by Alison Murray
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Flawed internal logic mars this slight tale. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Following One Two That's My Shoe (2012), Murray again riffs on a traditional nursery rhyme, keeping its cadences while focusing on a day in the life of Zack and his faithful dog, Rufus. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE TWO THAT'S MY SHOE by Alison Murray
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2012

"Count on repeated readings of this fun and frisky tale. (Picture book. 18 mos.-5)"
In a companion to Apple Pie ABC (2011), Murray reworks another familiar rhyme into a drama pitched perfectly for preschoolers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO MAKE A BIRD by Martine Murray
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 1, 2010

"First published in Australia in 2003, the novel offers an especially vivid sense of place—the harsh but open rural landscape and densely populated yet lonely, urban Melbourne. (Fiction. YA)"
Setting off at dawn, carrying a backpack and wearing a long evening gown, Mannie aims to escape her troubled life in small-town southern Australia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DINO DUCKLING by Alison Murray
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Reassurance for the Dino Duckling in every family. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The ultimate ugly duckling is wonderfully accepted within his family. Read full book review >