Search Results: "Paul Norlén"


BOOK REVIEW

FREE FALLING, AS IF IN A DREAM by Leif G.W. Persson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"'It's a small country,' Johansson grumbles. 'Much too small.' Yet there's plenty of room for mayhem. A worthy addition to the vast Swedish library devoted to such unpleasant things."
Stark whodunit with a sharp political edge, examining the 1986 assassination of Prime Minister Olof Palme of Sweden. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANOTHER TIME, ANOTHER LIFE by Leif G.W. Persson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 1, 2012

"It helps to know something about the time in which the story is set, and who Olof Palme was, to appreciate the book. Still, a practiced, Larsson-worthy procedural."
Dark, politically charged thriller from Swedish crime writer Persson (Between Summer's Longing and Winter's End, 2010), one of many literary heirs of Stieg Larsson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK LIES, RED BLOOD by Kjell Eriksson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 29, 2014

"Eriksson (The Hand that Trembles, 2011, etc.) adds each piece of his complex murder puzzle to the picture with masterly control, and the heroine at the center of it all is compelling."
Police inspector Ann Lindell tackles an investigation that's painfully close to home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INTRUDER by Håkan Östlundh
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 18, 2015

"Middling among the endless crop of Scandinavian procedurals but a distinct improvement over Fredrik's debut (The Viper, 2012)."
Returning from their summer vacation to their desecrated home in Gotland, a Swedish family can't imagine how things could be worse. But Östlundh can. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KILLER DEAL by Sofie Sarenbrant
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 10, 2016

"The house-of-cards structure, piling one disaster atop another, lacks the remorseless logic of the best Nordic procedurals. There's no denying, though, that the climactic revelation is a shocker."
Sarenbrant's first English translation introduces to crime-ridden Scandinavia a Swedish police detective whose third recorded case strikes uncomfortably close to home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 14, 2010

"'What fucking people there are and what fucking lives they live,' reflects one grim flatfoot. Just so. Persson does a fine job of pitting one desperate soul against another in a philosophically charged tale worthy of Ingmar Bergman—but with lots more guns."
Engaging Swedish whodunit, the first of a trilogy—reminiscent of the work of Henning Mankell and Stieg Larsson in its toughness, and just as cynical in its politics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOME KIND OF PEACE by Camilla Grebe
Released: July 10, 2012

"The levelheaded heroine adds welcome gravitas to the professional-woman-in-distress scenario, though the solution is a major letdown. First in a series."
Two Swedish sisters, a psychologist (Träff) and a thriller writer (Grebe), collaborate on—what else?—a thriller about a Stockholm psychologist. This novel was first published in Sweden in 2009. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MORE BITTER THAN DEATH by Camilla Grebe
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 18, 2013

"Siri is an interesting heroine, but this case, like her debut (Some Kind of Peace, 2012), lacks the core of cold logic that fuels the best of the recent flowering of Scandinavian thrillers."
A second round of homicide, troubled patients and scarcely less troubled personal relationships for Stockholm psychotherapist Siri Bergman. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GIRL IN THE ICE by Lotte Hammer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 10, 2015

"Fans of Scandinavian noir won't find much to like about this jumbled entry in the field."
A killer who preys on beautiful women faces off against a team of Danish investigators. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >