Search Results: "Paul Rees"


BOOK REVIEW

ROBERT PLANT by Paul Rees
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 22, 2013

"For die-hard fans only. Zeppelin fanatics will want to turn to Stephen Davis' hoary Hammer of the Gods (1985), which, though covering only the band and not Plant's solo decades, isn't as painful to read."
By-the-numbers biography of the shaggy rocker. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WISH HOUSE by Celia Rees
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Compelling for its examination of the darker side of desire both sexual and artistic. (Fiction. YA)"
An intense foray into first lust and the meanings of art in the summer of 1970 and six years later. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VAMPIRE HIGH by Douglas Rees
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Sept. 9, 2003

"Readers will love to find out. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Cody Elliot's plan to get his parents to return to California (Objective #1: fail all subjects in his new Massachusetts public high school) backfires when his not-so-doting dad transfers him to Vlad Dracula Magnet School. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Find It, File It, Flog It by Hedley Rees
NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 3, 2015

"A thoroughly researched and considered industry critique that includes substantive, visionary ideas for rehabilitation.
"
A searing indictment of "Big Pharma" offers specific recommendations for change. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 16, 2012

"Though the portrayal of Rob's deteriorating mental state is raw and often uncomfortable, in the end, the honest, uncensored storytelling makes this a tale that will stay with readers long after the final page is turned. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A dark and dangerous thrill ride pushes teen readers to the brink of their comfort zones when it comes to issues of love, lust, politics, family and war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VAMPIRE HIGH: SOPHOMORE YEAR by Douglas Rees
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: July 13, 2010

"Buy this for enthusiasts of Brian Meehl's Suck It Up (2008) and Heather Brewer's Chronicles of Vladimir Tod. (Funny paranormal. 12 & up)"
Irrepressible Cody Elliot is back at Vlad Dracul High (Vampire High, 2003), accompanied by his brilliant but truculent artist cousin, Turk (short for Turquoise), who helps ramp up the mayhem—by a quantum leap—to total pandemonium. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: July 1, 2005

"A strong, appealing entry in a series that is gaining momentum. (Fiction. 12+)"
A highly readable and entertaining work of fiction inspired by Jan Van Eyck's Northern Renaissance masterpiece, The Arnolfini Portrait. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOOK OF DEAD AUTHORS by Emlyn Rees
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 1998

"An upscale black-comic equivalent of beach reading."
Cheer for every author who didn't make the Modern Library's Top 100, or even a single publisher's acceptance pile: somebody has declared open season on Britain's most undeservedly successful novelists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 12, 2008

"A delight for any reader with a passing interest in music and a sense of humor."
How a middle-aged man recovered his love for music by taking up the French horn again. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HITLER'S CHARISMA by Laurence Rees
Released: April 16, 2013

"So how did Hitler convince his generals to invade Russia and his subjects to ignore the genocide around them? This readable, fascinating book, a worthy addition to the vast literature surrounding Hitler, has plausible answers."
A searching study that addresses the question, not why so many Germans and Austrians accommodated Adolf Hitler, but why they so ardently embraced him. Read full book review >