Search Results: "Paul Rees"


BOOK REVIEW

ROBERT PLANT by Paul Rees
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 22, 2013

"For die-hard fans only. Zeppelin fanatics will want to turn to Stephen Davis' hoary Hammer of the Gods (1985), which, though covering only the band and not Plant's solo decades, isn't as painful to read."
By-the-numbers biography of the shaggy rocker. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRUTH OUT THERE by Celia Rees
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"Detecting with a techie tilt. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Originally published in Great Britain as Truth or Dare, Rees folds three strands of plot together into one intriguing mystery about 13-year-old Joshua's long-departed Uncle Patrick. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHINA STRIKE by Matt Rees
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 11, 2017

"Rees' second ICE thriller (The Damascus Threat, 2016), long on action, moves at breakneck speed."
A bizarre international incident triggers the hunt for an elusive and dangerous cybercriminal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DAMASCUS THREAT by Matt Rees
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"This series kickoff by the author of the Omar Yussef thrillers (The Fourth Assassin, 2010, etc.) keeps the action and the close calls coming and tucks colorful characters into unexpected corners. Crackerjack entertainment, even if it mostly feels familiar."
In a race against the clock, an American special agent crisscrosses New York and travels to Syria to prevent a devastating chemical attack. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DON'T STAND SO CLOSE by Lloyd Rees
Released: June 8, 1994

"Don't get too close to this one."
A sappy first novel about adolescence and midlife crisis, all wrapped up into one long run-on sentence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMY SNOW by Tracy Rees
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 7, 2016

"Far too predictable to be truly suspenseful."
The adventures of a foundling who embarks on a treasure hunt in Victorian England. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WISH HOUSE by Celia Rees
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Compelling for its examination of the darker side of desire both sexual and artistic. (Fiction. YA)"
An intense foray into first lust and the meanings of art in the summer of 1970 and six years later. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VAMPIRE HIGH by Douglas Rees
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Sept. 9, 2003

"Readers will love to find out. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Cody Elliot's plan to get his parents to return to California (Objective #1: fail all subjects in his new Massachusetts public high school) backfires when his not-so-doting dad transfers him to Vlad Dracula Magnet School. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Find It, File It, Flog It by Hedley Rees
NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 3, 2015

"A thoroughly researched and considered industry critique that includes substantive, visionary ideas for rehabilitation.
"
A searing indictment of "Big Pharma" offers specific recommendations for change. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 16, 2012

"Though the portrayal of Rob's deteriorating mental state is raw and often uncomfortable, in the end, the honest, uncensored storytelling makes this a tale that will stay with readers long after the final page is turned. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A dark and dangerous thrill ride pushes teen readers to the brink of their comfort zones when it comes to issues of love, lust, politics, family and war. Read full book review >