Search Results: "Paul Rees"


BOOK REVIEW

ROBERT PLANT by Paul Rees
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 22, 2013

"For die-hard fans only. Zeppelin fanatics will want to turn to Stephen Davis' hoary Hammer of the Gods (1985), which, though covering only the band and not Plant's solo decades, isn't as painful to read."
By-the-numbers biography of the shaggy rocker. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WISH HOUSE by Celia Rees
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Compelling for its examination of the darker side of desire both sexual and artistic. (Fiction. YA)"
An intense foray into first lust and the meanings of art in the summer of 1970 and six years later. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VAMPIRE HIGH by Douglas Rees
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Sept. 9, 2003

"Readers will love to find out. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Cody Elliot's plan to get his parents to return to California (Objective #1: fail all subjects in his new Massachusetts public high school) backfires when his not-so-doting dad transfers him to Vlad Dracula Magnet School. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Find It, File It, Flog It by Hedley Rees
NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 3, 2015

"A thoroughly researched and considered industry critique that includes substantive, visionary ideas for rehabilitation.
"
A searing indictment of "Big Pharma" offers specific recommendations for change. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOVAY by Celia Rees
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

It's best not to mess with Sovay Middleton. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"An intimate peek at Gauguin's creative process and the story behind the cover painting Matamoe with just enough action and native color to entice. (notes, biographical timeline, and suggested reading) (Historical fiction. 12+)"
French post-Impressionist painter Paul Gauguin's arrival in the lush, colorful world of Tahiti in 1891 is the focus of this second entry in the Art Encounters historical-fiction series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MUM HUNT by Gwyneth Rees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2003

"Moderately intriguing, yet ultimately unconvincing. (Fiction. 10-12)"
A presumptuous, hip, young French au pair caring for motherless Esmie, 11, and Matt, 15, decides to orchestrate a match-making campaign by encouraging the children to place an ad in the newspaper personals column. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WITCH CHILD by Celia Rees
ADVENTURE
Released: July 13, 2001

"With its theme of religious intolerance and its touches of the supernatural, this is sure to be in high demand for a long time. (Fiction. 11-14)"
After watching her grandmother hang for being a witch, Mary journeys to the New World only to discover that human nature's desire to blame another is not limited to 17th-century England. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIGHTNING TIME by Douglas Rees
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 1, 1997

"In much of historical fiction, the answers have to be fabricated; here, Rees trusts readers to ponder the excitement of the questions themselves. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Theodore Worth first encounters John Brown, the charismatic leader who will change his life, when his family reluctantly agrees to hide the man in their Boston home overnight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SHOW-ME STATE by Lloyd Rees
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 17, 1996

"It isn't bad when Rees keeps his tongue in his cheek, but he undercuts his poor professor so severely it's hard to care about him, and, unlike Greene's, Rees's contempt for America is neither veiled nor well-informed."
British import about a wimpy English professor, Arthur Noone, on sabbatical at a regional university in Missouri. Read full book review >