Search Results: "Paul Rogers"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 9, 2012

"Loud and clear, the creators show how tuning into everyday sounds can inspire music. Clap, clap, CLAP! (Picture Book. 3-7)"
Marsalis and Rogers, who collaborated on the scintillating Jazz ABZ (2005), reunite for this sonic celebration for the younger crowd. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOREVER YOUNG by Bob Dylan
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 23, 2008

"Modern songs don't generally make the leap to this format successfully—Dylan's own Man Gave Names to All the Animals (1999), illustrated by Scott Menchin, being a case in point—but here's a rare exception. (Picture book. 6-8, Boomers)"
Rogers sets Dylan's timeless lyric (composed, writes the renowned author, "in a minute") to simply drawn and colored cartoon scenes strewn with references to iconic '60s-era people and places, as well as Dylan songs and albums. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POETRY
Released: Nov. 1, 2005

"Yeahhhh. (Poetry. YA)"
At last: a jazz book that thrillingly, exhilaratingly, palpitatingly gets it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DON'T BLAME ME! by Paul Rogers
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 15, 1992

"An entertaining Rube Goldberg of a tall tale. (Picture book. 4-9)"
Just as Jethro is painting the finishing touches on the sign for the Jolly Sailor, Captain Crab jostles his ladder, causing an ugly black streak. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAT'S KITTENS by Paul Rogers
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 1997

"This is a series of moody moments rather than a story—more of a cautious outing than a hair-raising adventure. (Picture book. 4-8)"
For seven nights, a stray cat mothers her new kittens, teaching them the ways of the city. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PLEASE ENJOY YOUR HAPPINESS by Paul Brinkley-Rogers
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"As startling and memorable as fiction and ripe for film adaptation."
A rare and beautiful love story between a British-American "sailor boy" and a cultured, older Japanese woman who had lived through the World War II years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SAFARI SET  by Madeleine Rogers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Despite the occasionally ambiguous text, a good, strikingly illustrated conversation starter about animals, their habitats, and our part in protecting these environments. (Board book. 2-5)"
Come for a safari and explore five common animals of Africa's savanna: lion, giraffe, elephant, hippopotamus, and zebra. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROMISED LANDS by Jane Rogers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 28, 1997

"Ambitious and solidly researched, but the different centuries and their challenges remain largely in separate orbits, with only a huge effort at contrivance pulling them parallel, and then only briefly."
Following a popular trend, Rogers's latest (after Her Living Image, 1986, etc.) fuses the past and the present, reaching from the 18th-century founding of a British colony in Australia to a failing 20th-century English marriage, and conjoining the roles of two idealists, each disillusioned in his own time and place. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST RESORT by Douglas Rogers
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 22, 2009

"Eye-opening memoir weaving violent Zimbabwean politics with the camaraderie and fearlessness of a family in crisis."
A Brooklyn travel writer returns to his South African homeland to rescue the family farm from imminent danger. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROOF by Adam Rogers
NON-FICTION
Released: June 3, 2014

"Rogers gives booze a thorough going over, complete with good cheer, highbrow humor and smarts."
From the action of the yeast to the blear of the hangover, via the witchery of fermentation, distillation and aging, Wired articles editor Rogers takes readers on a splendid tour of the booze-making process. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BYRON'S LANE by Wallace Rogers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"Despite some flaws, a worthy novel about the lost hopes and embraced hypocrisies of a self-absorbed, overhyped generation."
A debut novel about two old school pals who reunite to reminisce and confront demons past and present. Read full book review >