Search Results: "Paul Rudnick"


BOOK REVIEW

GORGEOUS by Paul Rudnick
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 1, 2013

"A Cinderella story with a difference, Becky's journey to reconcile her inner household drudge and outer princess starts where most fairy tales end. (Fantasy. 14 & up)"
Acute, wickedly funny observations on appearance and identity punctuate this sprawling, caustic fairy tale that cheerfully skewers the fashion and film worlds and their celebrity-culture spawn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IT'S ALL YOUR FAULT by Paul Rudnick
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 26, 2016

"Hilarious, irresistible, and oh so timely. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Caitlin Mary Prudence Rectitude Singleberry leads a wholesome, home-schooled life in Parsippany, New Jersey, and enjoys performing with her family (the Singing Singleberries) while waiting to hear from the 12 colleges she's applied to, so what is she doing in jail with her nose pierced, neon hair, and a tattoo?Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'LL TAKE IT by Paul Rudnick
Released: May 24, 1989

Rudnick follows his witty, mischievous look at the Manhattan club scene (Social Disease, 1986) with a witty, mischievous second novel about the joys of shopping; his medium is a Jewish domestic comedy (with a twist of larceny). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 15, 2009

"A witty, satisfying collection of American humor."
Scenarist Rudnick (I'll Take It, 1989, etc.) presents 15 humorous pieces. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FROZEN HEART by Elizabeth Rudnick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"This story tries to cater to both younger girls' dreams of being a princess and older girls' desires for both empowerment and romance but misses the mark on both. (Fantasy. 10-13)"
Back story is explored in this novel based on Disney's Frozen.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 12, 2008

"Light on the paranormal and heavy on tweeny charm."
Peter Powell, an 11-year-old gifted with Extra Sensory Perception (ESP), matches wits with a bank robber in Rudnick's humorous preteen jaunt. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A SURPRISE FOR GIRAFFE AND ELEPHANT by Paul Gude
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 17, 2015

"Readers can't help but feel lifted after spending time with these two companions. (Picture book. 3-5)"
The welcome return of odd-couple pals Elephant and Giraffe (When Elephant Met Giraffe, 2014).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO WORLD! by Paul Beavis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"A calmly surreal invitation to explore. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Mrs. Mo's Monster (2014), he of the snaggly teeth, spiky blue fur, and lolling pink tongue, is still in the attic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED PANDA'S CANDY APPLES by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2014

"The message appears to be the treats are best when shared, which makes Red Panda's attempt at entrepreneurship all the odder. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Who can resist candy apples? Not Red Panda. Read full book review >