Search Results: "Paul Ruffin"


BOOK REVIEW

THE MAN WHO WOULD BE GOD by Paul Ruffin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 15, 1993

"Such moments and images—set in a Texas where landscape only emphasizes loneliness and obsession—make even the less effective fictions here striking."
A debut collection of 11 sharply etched sketches and stories, most set in East Texas and several originally published in literary quarterlies like Ploughshares or Kansas Quarterly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 15, 2011

"Essays for the drunk and disorderly. Ruffin should stick to poetry and fiction—see The Man Who Would Be God (1993) or Jesus in the Mist (2007)."
Ruffin (English/Sam Houston State Univ.; New and Selected Poems, 2010, etc.) offers a collection of personal essays that read like script ideas rejected by the Farrelly brothers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JESUS IN THE MIST by Paul Ruffin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Ruffin shows that 'Southern' does not always have to be paired with 'Gothic' and that 'where families are concerned, things are rarely simple.'"
Remarkable stories of seekers, idealists, visionaries and the occasional racist, written in an authentic Southern idiom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TIME THE WATERS ROSE by Paul Ruffin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2016

"These stories exploring how life on the water affects everyday people make for amiable reading, but they become most compelling when Ruffin taps into the bleaker impulses found below a more cordial facade."
In Ruffin's new collection, men, boats, and bodies of water collide unexpectedly, with results that are often humorous, violent, or both. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHERRY PAGES by Gary Ruffin
Released: March 7, 2013

"Like Surf City, Gulf Front offers two girls for every boy, turning the two-suitor chick-lit standby on its head."
A small-town cop hits the big time acting as bodyguard for a famous film star. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHERE SHERLOCK HOLMES MEETS FANTASY
by John DeNardo

If Benjamin Franklin were alive today, he'd say that nothing in the world is certain except death, taxes, and Sherlock Holmes stories. Sherlock Holmes, the iconic consulting detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in 1887, is a perennial mainstay in the literary world. What's not to like? Holmes' methods of investigation and deductions are flawless and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"Lots of visual cues will help new readers through the fairly simple text, but it is the power of the story that will keep them turning the pages. (Easy reader. 6-8)"
This early reader is an excellent introduction to the March on Washington in 1963 and the important role in the march played by Martin Luther King Jr. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A SURPRISE FOR GIRAFFE AND ELEPHANT by Paul Gude
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 17, 2015

"Readers can't help but feel lifted after spending time with these two companions. (Picture book. 3-5)"
The welcome return of odd-couple pals Elephant and Giraffe (When Elephant Met Giraffe, 2014).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO WORLD! by Paul Beavis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"A calmly surreal invitation to explore. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Mrs. Mo's Monster (2014), he of the snaggly teeth, spiky blue fur, and lolling pink tongue, is still in the attic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED PANDA'S CANDY APPLES by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2014

"The message appears to be the treats are best when shared, which makes Red Panda's attempt at entrepreneurship all the odder. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Who can resist candy apples? Not Red Panda. Read full book review >